Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-07-2010, 09:48 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Leaking from first floor to basement

Hi folks,

I have been battling with a leak for 2 months now. My 1st floor bathroom recently had a custom stall shower built with tiles. This was originally a 1/2 bath. It has been leaking into the unfinished basement for about 2 months whenever we turn on the water. I don't know if the guy even put a shower liner underneath. I did not see him do anything like that. Basically he put cement and then the tiles. And now I am getting a nasty smell from my drain. I don't know if its sewer gas or just the rotted wood underneath. I am also getting drain flies. Here are the tests that I have done:

1. Filled shower area up 1 inch with water and covered the drain overnight. Water level did not decrease.

2. Put a cap on the shower head and turned on shower knob along with the hot and cold knobs. With full pressure, there was no leak from the pipes. The pipes leading into the bathroom from the basement are visible and no leaks. No leaks on the copper pipe. No leaks on the PVC drain.

3. Caulked everything including the underneath of the glass door and all 4 corners.

4. Turned on the shower, still leaks.

5. covered the drain and showered the tiles. No leak.

6. The only thing I have not tested is the drain itself. As I have mentioned, I see no water on the pvc elbow(He didn't even install a P type pvc pipe) sticking out to the basement. However, this drain is installed into the tiles. And the metal lid is just sitting on top of the hole. The guy didn't even bother to screw it in. Its not even a screw type. I guess I will have to stick it on with caulk. I suspect that the problem is in the upper portion of the drain which I cannot see from the basement. Now how do I test this without breaking the floor?

Thanks a lot.