Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-17-2012, 06:40 PM   #1

Share |

** Leaking Basement

Hi, I'm a newbie

How do I figure out whether ABS pipes behind drywall are leaking? I found water in my basement yesterday...it's running very clear, so I assume it's coming from either the copper pipe or ABS pipe. The water meter dial doesn't move when all faucets are turned off. Water meter dial spins like crazy when any faucet is turned on.

The water is coming from the back of the house finished drywall basement area to front of the house basement unfinished storage area with a concrete floor. The clear water is collecting under my Wet Blanket

There are vertical ABS pipes coming from front portion of house kitchen/laundry sinks and bathrooms upstairs. I can hear the water rush through these visible ABS pipes as I turned on water from aforementioned rooms individually. Basically I turn on water in bathroom sink then hear it rush through ABS pipe...turn off water. Turn on water in laundry room sink then hear it rush through ABS pipe...turn off water. I followed these steps for the toilet and bath tub too. In all cases heard the rush of water through these ABS pipes which are bone dry on the outside surface and no water collecting where they enter into concrete ground.

How do I figure out whether the ABS pipes behind the drywall in the back portion of the basement area is leaking?

I suspect the following rooms are connected to the hidden ABS pipe. One bathroom with sink, toilet and tub. I also think the kitchen sink is running to hidden ABS pipe. I plan to cut into the basement drywall but unsure what to look for.

Wet Blanket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:15 PM   #2

** Leaking Basement

first, you need to eliminate any possibility of ground water or an exterior water line leak such as your house service or irrigation piping.