Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-18-2011, 05:54 PM   #1

Share |

Instructions for removing a fiberglass tub? Help!

Hi guys, I finally have a pretty open week next week to remove an old beat up fiberglass tub from my bathroom. So I'm ready to finally go ahead and get to it. But I wanted to ask if there was anything I should be aware of before doing this? I have never done this before so I am a newbie to this, but I am pretty handy so I'm hoping I will be able to get the job done.

My plan is to just slowly remove it piece by piece by just using a reciprocating saw with the saw blade meant for metal (I only have blades for wood or metal, I figured metal cutting blades is better). I am going to wear ear buds for noise protection, eye protection, and a general dust mask. I plan to try to unscrew the tub drain and tub spout if they come out. Anything else I need to know for removal?

I appreciate any help. This has been a project I have been putting off for some time, and the fiberglass tub has already been destroyed pretty bad so it needs to be removed. Thanks so much and take care

Oh, and just so you know. A new tub will be installed in place of the old one, so I don't know if that will affect how I remove the old one.

amodoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 06:06 PM   #2
DIY staff

That's how I remove them---a good wood blade (like a Milwaukee) will be the fastest.

One word of caution: If your house is on a slab--frequently the plumbers will tuck the water feed lines behind the tub along the back wall---Look before you cut in that area---Mike---

Old 11-18-2011, 06:22 PM   #3

Sometimes it helps to remove about 2" of drywall around the tub using the sawzall (don't plunge too deep with the blade and cut something inside the wall). Now you can pull any nails/screws without damaging the rest of the wall.
Put a plug in your drain during demo.