Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2009, 08:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Installing Gas cooktop in island (with no gas?)


hello all,

First post *takes a bow*

My wife and I are buying our first house, and we found one that we think is perfect in every way but one. We both like to cook, and we live by the gulf so hurricanes are a threat, and long days with out power a real possibility. Both these factors lead us to wanting a gas cook top. Here's the rub. This house has an electric range in the island, with no obvious gas hookup under there.

My basic question is this: Can gas be brought over to the island from where the gas comes into the gas dryer connection (about 10-12 feet away)? I'm figuring this will require some trenching in the slab (no basement or crawl space here). The tile that's in the kitchen is really nice so we hate to rip some of it up, and we don't want to damage the slab and the foundation, but it might be worth it to us if it's possible.

Is this ever done? Do people bother with this kind of thing, or is it cost prohibitive?

Anyone ever tried it?

I tried to do a search for this, but the search engine seems to think 'gas' is too short of a search term so it just gave me loads of info on installing islands... useful, but not quite what I was looking for.

Thanks in advance!

C.

claydwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 10:48 PM   #2
35 YEAR MASTER PLUMBER
 
MACPLUMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: HOUSTON, TEXAS
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Exclamation

Installing Gas cooktop in island (with no gas?)


I THINK YOU WILL FIND IT "VERY" COST PROHIBITIVE ! !

FIRST OFF LET ME SAY I AGREE WITH YOUR IDEAL BUT I AM GOING TO MAKE YOU AWARE OF CERTAIN FACTS ABOUT GAS PLUMBING, ! ! : thumbs up:

#1 YOU CAN SAFE YOUR KITCHEN FLOORING BECAUSE IT IS ILLEGAL TO RUN GAS UNDER CONCRETE,
#2 YOU CAN NOT JUST RUN A EXTENSION ON A GAS SYSTEM YOU HAVE TO HAVE THE WHOLE SYSTEM DESIGNED FOR EACH AND EVER APPLIANCE
INCLUDING ALL THE ELBOWS AND THE MAX. RUN OF PIPE ! !

#3 THE STOVE IS RATED FOR A LOT MORE BTU'S THEN THE DRYER PIPE COULD POSSIBLY CARRY ! !

IF YOU CAN START AT THE GAS METER AND RUN THE NEW PIPE ALL THOUGH
THE OVERHEAD THEN YOU COULD DO WHAT YOU WANT GET A PRICE FOR
THAT THEN DECIDE IF YOU WANT TO PAY THE COST ! ! ! !

__________________
JERRYMAC@UTAHWEB.COM
35 YR. MASTER PLUMBER WITH PH.D IN WATER HEATERLOGY, MASTERS DEGREE IN DRAINLOGY,
PLUMB ANY PIPE, SNAKE ANY DRAIN, MAKE COLD WATER BOIL ON A FREEZING DAY
MACPLUMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 08:06 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing Gas cooktop in island (with no gas?)


wow, I had no idea it was illegal to run gas though concrete like that. My wife asked another plumber and he said that was the only option, to trench into the slab, lay the pipe, and then fill it back in. I thought that it might not work to just run it from the dryer like that, I would guess we would need to see where the gas main comes in and then figure it out from there. Here's a question: Is it ever done where someone will upgrade a kitchen, and put an island over a gas connection and not bring the connection up though the floor of the island? The Realtor for the house says he thinks there gas in the island, but there's no sign of it.
claydwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 11:42 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rincon, GA
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Installing Gas cooktop in island (with no gas?)


the realtor also works on commission. don't take his "thinks" and opinions as fact without getting it in writing.
djrussell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 06:58 PM   #5
35 YEAR MASTER PLUMBER
 
MACPLUMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: HOUSTON, TEXAS
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 0
Exclamation

Installing Gas cooktop in island (with no gas?)


Hey send me a e-mail with your number and best time of day to call

e-mail in my signature line i can call and advise about the gas ! !
__________________
JERRYMAC@UTAHWEB.COM
35 YR. MASTER PLUMBER WITH PH.D IN WATER HEATERLOGY, MASTERS DEGREE IN DRAINLOGY,
PLUMB ANY PIPE, SNAKE ANY DRAIN, MAKE COLD WATER BOIL ON A FREEZING DAY
MACPLUMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
120/240 hookup for Jenn-Air cooktop jroho Electrical 4 01-20-2009 06:06 PM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 08:26 PM
need help with a new cooktop m_shel Electrical 9 02-08-2008 09:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.