Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2012, 07:31 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

installing a 2nd toilet


Hi, we're installing a 2nd toilet in the garage to make an efficiency. Does that toilet also need an air vent, or does it work off of the other toilet in the house?

cgpollari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:28 AM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,133
Default

installing a 2nd toilet


Yes---every toilet needs it own vent--2" minimum vent pipe--

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:30 AM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

installing a 2nd toilet


Quote:
Originally Posted by cgpollari View Post
...installing a 2nd toilet in the garage to make an efficiency.
...does it work off of the other toilet in the house?
How far is this new location from the existing DWV stack?
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 05:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,085
Default

installing a 2nd toilet


irc says no vent needed for toilet since it is self siphoning i am assuming there will be a sink to wash hands and that will have to be vented

http://publicecodes.citation.com/ico...2_9_sec009.htm

edit
i should say there has to be a vent but there is no maximum distance between toilet and vent. so you should be able to use another fixture that is vented to vent toilet
__________________
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said me
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said myself
p.s. not all i say is a fact but not all i say is my opinion.

Last edited by jaydevries; 04-08-2012 at 06:09 PM.
jaydevries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 07:03 PM   #5
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,546
Default

installing a 2nd toilet


But the UPC says it does need a vent within 6ft. So what code will the OP be using for inspection purposes....
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 09:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,244
Default

installing a 2nd toilet


it needs a vent

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a new toilet flange - before or after tiling WoodmanFL Plumbing 9 01-21-2012 08:29 PM
How to prepare toilet drain pipe for toilet flange? brett.c.brown Plumbing 11 12-15-2011 07:41 PM
Toilet Only on Drain Line Perry401 Plumbing 1 09-27-2011 01:30 PM
Help me check my logic on clogged drain and overflowing toilet Southlake_Ed Plumbing 10 01-05-2010 07:52 PM
installing tile. Toilet against the wall joemcjr Building & Construction 4 02-16-2009 08:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.