Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2010, 08:06 PM   #46
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


Re-calibrated pump to 35-55 psi with about 32 psi in empty pressure tank.

Replaced pipe near ball valve to be able to open it all the way (replaced 3/4 with 3/4 for now). When looking at the ball valve from the end of the pipe, it appears to me that the ball valve is completely out of the way when it is open, it looks to be brass.

Pictures of replaced piping.

THE FOLLOWING IS NOT FOR THOSE WITH WEAK STOMACHS. PARENTAL GUIDANCE IS ADVISED.

The vertical section had no buildup, but the horizontal section was a mess. This is what makes me want to replace all the pipe up to the softener. But I will wait and see what flow I get now.

UPDATE: At my normal test faucet, I still get 5 gallons in about 1:05, so no measurable improvement. I think it's time to replace all the line between the pressure tank and softener - and with 1" at that.

Name:  P1230186.JPG
Views: 132
Size:  75.6 KB Name:  P1230187.JPG
Views: 134
Size:  69.1 KB


Last edited by dadaddio; 05-12-2010 at 09:07 PM.
dadaddio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 05:04 AM   #47
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


That's pretty bad. I would be looking at all the piping from the pump to the house. I'll bet the inlet screen on the pump is just as bad
__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 02:06 PM   #48
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 734
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


Well maintenance Well maintenance Well maintenance
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 05:12 PM   #49
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


A couple points - these pics are from pipes that have been in place since 1995. The pump was pulled and the well deepened in Nov-2007, so the pump was serviced at that time. Also, the flow rate at the pressure tank is currently at least 20gpm, so I think I'm OK from well to p-tank. It's from there to the softener that I think is the problem.
David
dadaddio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:42 PM   #50
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 734
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


If you are not getting the flow from the pump to the house pressure tank no amount of large or clear lines to the rest of the house or treatment system is going to change that lack of flow to the house.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 03:23 PM   #51
Water quality'n pump guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wherever I park the motorhome.
Posts: 358
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


He said he is getting 20+ gpm from the pump to the pressure tank.
__________________
Gary Slusser
23 years in water treatment and well pumps, 13 years on the 'net helping others to help themselves.
Gary Slusser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 07:46 PM   #52
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


Quote:
Originally Posted by dadaddio View Post
A couple points - these pics are from pipes that have been in place since 1995. The pump was pulled and the well deepened in Nov-2007, so the pump was serviced at that time. Also, the flow rate at the pressure tank is currently at least 20gpm, so I think I'm OK from well to p-tank. It's from there to the softener that I think is the problem.
David
I assume you did the flow test at the tank and if you are getting 20 gpm that be more than enough, so go ahead and change out the piping from the pressure tank to the softener. I suggest that if you want the maximum flow then change it to copper. Pex and CPVC both have a smaller inside diameter than copper and you can not use PVC by code. Do yourself a favor and put a couple unions on the pipe so you can remove it and flush it out in the future when it plugs up again
__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 10:05 PM   #53
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


I re-plumbed from pressure tank to softener with 1 inch CPVP today. I was surprised how heavy the old 3/4 inch lines were due to the iron buildup in them. Flow at the softener is now about 20 gpm as expected. So the regeneration should be fine now. I had to convert down to 3/4 inch at the softener input since that is what is it.

I used the 5600SXT to measure the flow rate through the softener to the house and got a peak flow of 9.4 gpm (with a bunch of fixtures on the house turned on). Woo-hoo! I was getting only 5.5 gpm previously. My faucet test filled the 5 gallon bucket in about 45 sec or about 7 gpm (previously 1:05 min) regardless of softener in service or bypass.

I will now test the well water with three different kits I purchased and will post the results. Then we can talk what should be in the softener. I am currently running whatever fine mesh resin I didn't flush out of the tank previously and with the KDF media cartridge removed.

More to come,
David
dadaddio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 07:44 PM   #54
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


OK - tests are in:
Measurements from two local water treatment companies: 20 and 29 gpg of hardness; 2.5 and 3 ppm iron
My test kit results:
pH: pretty much 7.5
Copper: 0
Nitrate/Nitrite: 0
Chlorine: 0
Lead/Pesticide: negative
Iron: pretty consistent at 3 ppm
Total hardness: 20 gpg from one kit and 25 gpg from the other (which is the max for this test kit)
So, how do I determine how much media (high capacity fine mesh resin) I have left in the tank and is there anything I need to change. (I still have the KDF Media guard 85 available)

David
dadaddio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 08:59 PM   #55
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 734
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


Quote:
Originally Posted by dadaddio View Post
OK - tests are in:
Measurements from two local water treatment companies: 20 and 29 gpg of hardness; 2.5 and 3 ppm iron
My test kit results:
pH: pretty much 7.5
Copper: 0
Nitrate/Nitrite: 0
Chlorine: 0
Lead/Pesticide: negative
Iron: pretty consistent at 3 ppm
Total hardness: 20 gpg from one kit and 25 gpg from the other (which is the max for this test kit)
So, how do I determine how much media (high capacity fine mesh resin) I have left in the tank and is there anything I need to change. (I still have the KDF Media guard 85 available)

David
With a tape measure the distance between the resin and the opening of the tank.
How tall is the tank?
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 10:42 PM   #56
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


I read your post from 2010 on the fleck 5600sxt. You were saying how after a regeneration the water would be discolored until you ran the tap for 5 mins. Did you ever find a fix fir this? I have a well and fleck 5600sxt. I installed it and worked great for 5 weeks. Then after 5 weeks same issue as you. Works great in service but after regen colored water untill I run the tap for awhile.
moreira85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 01:20 PM   #57
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


Post from the Past - good thing I am subscribed.
I haven't changed anything since opening this thread. I still occasionally get rust colored water after regen, sometimes pretty thick too. Most of the time all is well. I think it has to do with a number of factors: how long since last regen, how much water have I been using from well. I think there are just times when the iron content is higher in the well than others. Seems to be more prevalent in the summer when water use is higher (kids home from college and lawn watering). I've debated a separate iron filter, but haven't done anything so far. Don't want to spend a ton of money.
dadaddio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 01:46 PM   #58
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


Thanks for the response. Mine also gets bad at time after a regen like a yellowish sometimes orange color until it runs out. Wonder if I'd doesn't have adequate pressure for backwash.
moreira85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 03:01 PM   #59
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 270
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


Quote:
Originally Posted by moreira85 View Post
Thanks for the response. Mine also gets bad at time after a regen like a yellowish sometimes orange color until it runs out. Wonder if I'd doesn't have adequate pressure for backwash.
You can try a couple of things:
1. Increase the backwash time; and,
2. Increase the salt dose.

Either, or both together, should improve the situation.

An alternate approach is to regenerate more frequently--you could reduce the maximum time between regenerations or increase the hardness setting to force more frequent regeneration.
Bob999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 06:03 PM   #60
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 734
Default

Incomplete softener flushing


Still fishing for the answer you are looking for by trying a different forum?

The media is going to need to be cleaned by taking it out...

I thought that unit had been in for some time not the 2 months that you just broke on another forum...

Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Musty water from water softener tranders Plumbing 49 05-03-2014 01:17 PM
Water softener leak - how do I set it to bypass? Cylanth Plumbing 4 07-21-2010 09:24 PM
Incomplete flushing Mr.Pappy Plumbing 5 06-09-2010 02:54 PM
Pex vs. copper, running a new line to water softener. ams4life Plumbing 9 03-05-2010 04:47 PM
Flooded Salt Tank in Kenmore H2O Softener whitedavidp Plumbing 2 01-07-2010 12:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.