Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-23-2011, 03:43 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

I think I'm in luck!

We've just bought a new LG fridge, and it needs plumbing for water/ice. The old bugger we're getting rid of wasn't that fancy.

I go under our house a few minutes ago, dodging strange spiders in our crawlspace, and I think there's already existing plumbing set up just for such a fancy fridge.

Question for you experts - Aside from drilling a hole through the floor, will I need to buy more hose or connections to hook this baby up? I'm not positive what the fridge comes with for a connection; complete newbie here.

newfridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 05:00 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 75

I think I'm in luck!

The new Fridge is going to have a 1/4 " male connection.
As long as your going to be drilling a hole.
Id move that shut off valve above the floor and behind the fridge.

AlbacoreShuffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 05:02 PM   #3

I think I'm in luck!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbacoreShuffle View Post
The new Fridge is going to have a 1/4 " male connection.
As long as your going to be drilling a hole.
Id move that shut off valve above the floor and behind the fridge.
Right, so I would run some more line, braided steel perhaps, from the existing connection up through the floor, and then throw a ball valve on behind the fridge, and connect the fridge to that?
Old 09-23-2011, 05:17 PM   #4

I think I'm in luck!

Quote:
Originally Posted by newfridge View Post
Right, so I would run some more line, braided steel perhaps, from the existing connection up through the floor, and then throw a ball valve on behind the fridge, and connect the fridge to that?
I'd run 1/2 copper up through the floor and install the same kind of valve you have under the house.
If your not ready to solder the copper you can use a "shark bite" elbow.