Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2009, 02:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hydro-Shark Boiler problem


Installed a Hydro-Shark 3 electric micro boiler for floor heat. (7kw) It was a replacement for existing heat source. The floor heat works but the maximum temp output is 103 degrees. The thermo allows me to dial up to 125 degrees. I have a single loop for my family room and at 103 degrees I can heat the slab and have warm water return to the boiler. Is there some type of internal control on the boiler that might be faulty that won't allow the higher temps? Recommendation in the installation info advises 120 degrees.

sack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 04:11 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,725
Rewards Points: 2,084
Default

Hydro-Shark Boiler problem


Ayuh,.. Is the electrical feed sufficent,..?? Ampereage,..?? Voltage,..??

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 11:08 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hydro-Shark Boiler problem


240 volts/40 amps. Installed by electrician. 40 amp breaker, 200 amp service, 125 volts at each lug on the boiler. #10 wire run 25 feet. I reduced the flow rate from 3 gpm to 1 gpm. Still fixed at 103 degrees so I moved the flow back to 3 gpm. Water is still warm as it returns from the loop.
sack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 03:25 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hydro-Shark Boiler problem


What part of the country are you in?
How do you have your insulation installed?
Do you have 2" Riged down 2' and out or in 2', or down to the frost level around the out side of the building?
How many Square feet are you trying to heat with the 7kw boiler?
Is it under 800 Sq Ft?
Neighbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 03:29 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hydro-Shark Boiler problem


Put a clamp on amp meter on the in coming voltage and make sure that it is 240 at the correct amps.
Check and see if the amp draw when there is a call for heat is close to the 7kw.
Check to see if an element is shorted out.
Have fun call the manufacturer
they have been pretty helpful in the past.
Neighbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
downdraft problem spyshot HVAC 2 10-01-2009 02:56 PM
Steam to Hydro Air Conversion RBR HVAC 1 09-17-2009 05:23 PM
Boiler size Bonnie Youngs HVAC 29 07-10-2009 08:58 PM
pilot light on crown aruba boiler mazzonetv Plumbing 1 05-28-2009 11:13 AM
Utica Boiler shut down problem halo HVAC 2 02-29-2008 08:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.