Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-07-2009, 04:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Huge bang when my sump pump stops

Please help, I am not a plumber but I have some basic knowledge.
moved into a new home this year; my water softener discharges into my sump pump basin, the sump pump works fine but when it stops there is a huge bang in the pipe that leads to the septic tank. I have 2" pipe coming from the pump, it has 2 90's in it (to get it close to the basement wall) then a check valve, it continues up to another 90 and then connects to the septic line - does this need to be vented? See the attachment.
thank you - this is driving my wife crazy- which means it's driving me crazy.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf sump pump diagram.pdf (28.3 KB, 265 views)

gregfroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:19 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

If all is installed correctly, there is a check valve in the outgoing pipe. If it is the metal(brass) type, it could be noisey when it closes after the pump shuts off. The plastic versions are generally quieter. And the higher the pipe from the check valve , the more force slamming it shut.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:04 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 1,000

I agree with Bill that it is the check valve "slamming' shut when the pump shuts off. The higher up the line you install the check valve, the more water will run back into the sump (when the pump shuts off) , but sometimes it is worth having this happen to avoid the noise.
Old 10-08-2009, 03:19 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 1,226

I agree it's likely the check valve but is there a chance that the pump torque is twisting the pipe slightly when it's running and when it shuts off the pipe is snapping back? Can you be down there when it shuts off and see where the noise comes from and if anything is moving?