How To Set Up Hot Water Heater Drain Pan - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-14-2010, 04:13 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

How to set up hot water heater drain pan

I'm a newbie, both to this site and to home ownership, so please be kind to my lack of knowledge on this.

When I moved into my condo, my water heater had a drain pan placed underneath and some sort of valve/connector on the side of the pan to allow a hose or pipe to be fed to it so should the tank fail the water can be properly drained via the floor drain in my utility closet. That has yet to be done.

I've been wanting to run a hose from the side of the pan to the floor drain, but I cannot get any good info on how to properly do so. This may be a trite task, but getting the right info for me do have to do this once and be done with it has been a pain.

Advertisement

ninfragile19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 04:20 PM   #2
fabrk8r

Rewards Points: 500

Find a piece of hose that fits snugly on the stub of the pan...it can be anything, garden hose, black plastic hose...I prefer clear poly (reinforced if any traffic) so I can see any blockages. Use a hose clamp to secure it to the pan stub.

Advertisement

Old 09-14-2010, 04:22 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,048

Choice of:

1. Run the hose along the floor and to a suitable place on a nearby exterior wall where you drill a hole at floor level to the outside to run a short length of pipe as a drain.

2. Run the hose to a similar but smaller tray, also on the floor, in which you have set a sump pump that will come on when the water level in both trays gets almost to the top (about 1-1/2 inches from the floor) of the first tray.