Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-24-2011, 07:07 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

How to move my kitchen sink just 6"?

I have a new countertop and need to move my existing kitchen sink just 6" to the left. The hot and cold water lines have enough play in them to move, so they aren't an issue. The sink is single bowl, no garbage disposal.

Can I purchase an extender or a longer piece of one of the PVC pipes and add it to/replace an existing shorter piece? I've never done this before, but I have a really good diagram of sink parts and can look the part(s) up, if I know the name of it.

And what are basin and spud wrenches? Will I need these and other tools for this task? I have an adjustable wrench and tons of other construction-type tools.

Many thanks for your advice, Jennshark

Jennshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 08:26 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

If you can post a pic of what the set-up is currently then we can guide you to a successful relocation.

How to attach a photo to a post

VIPlumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 08:26 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,390

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jennshark View Post
I have a new countertop and need to move my existing kitchen sink just 6" to the left. The hot and cold water lines have enough play in them to move, so they aren't an issue. The sink is single bowl, no garbage disposal.

Can I purchase an extender or a longer piece of one of the PVC pipes and add it to/replace an existing shorter piece? I've never done this before, but I have a really good diagram of sink parts and can look the part(s) up, if I know the name of it.

And what are basin and spud wrenches? Will I need these and other tools for this task? I have an adjustable wrench and tons of other construction-type tools.

Many thanks for your advice, Jennshark