Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-15-2010, 09:35 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

How hard is it to replace a sewer line from the house to the street?

I need to replace my sewer line that runs to the street. I know the cost can be extreme and was thinking about doing it myself (with help of course). I have limited experience with plumbing projects, but my grandpa is a licensed contractor (never worked as one only considered it). He has a lot of plumbling experience, but I'm not sure if he's ever tackled this type of project.

My question is this-- Is most of the work related to digging the trench? After that is it pretty much just attaching a pipe and making sure it runs at the proper pitch? It is a relatively short run (45 or 50 feet) and there are no trees or landscaping along the pipe run. Thanks for any advice!

srelliott83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 09:40 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

its hard. harder than a priest at a playground . seriously though, with a question like that i think you need to get more estimates. costs can be extreme, but normally that's because its got a lot of stuff in the way or its really deep. if its wide open like you say it is, get some more quotes and find out what is entailed with the quote. some companies out there make almost all their profit on sewer replacement so they bid em high and hope they get em

the_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 09:41 AM   #3
old guy contractor

Rewards Points: 500

I don't think this falls into the category of a do it yourself project.

Most cities won't let anyone but licensed contractors touch their stuff.
tcleve4911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 10:03 AM   #4

I do have a licensed contractor, my grandfather. I haven't talked to him about it yet but I was wondering how feasible it would be to do this on our own.
Old 11-15-2010, 10:06 AM   #5