Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-13-2008, 07:35 AM   #1

Share |

How difficult to remove a kitchen sink?

Hi;
I would like to pull the sink out of the counter in the kitchen so that I can replace the drain and faucet. Doing this without removing the sink would be impossible, as it is a nightmare to reach the connections to the faucets, and I am unable to work in that position for any period of time.

It looks like the sink is held in by some tabs underneath, which are screwed on.
Should I be able to pull the sink out if I remove the plumbing connections, then unscrew the tabs?

My next question is how much does a single tub stainless steel kitchen sink weigh? I wouldn't expect more than 50lbs, but I've never worked with one before.

Thanks for your advice

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 08:30 AM   #2

I would guess that the sink would weigh about 20 pounds.

The sink may be cemented down, or even plumber's putty will require some prying after you unscrew the metal tabs.

They make a tool called a basin wrench that has a long stem, a sliding T handle at one end, and an adjustable claw at the other end so you can undo and redo the nuts and threaded collars of typical top mounted sink and washbasin faucets while lying underneath.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-13-2008 at 08:34 AM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 10:15 AM   #3