Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2010, 07:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 113
Share |
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


I am wanting to reno my laundry. I plan on insulating the concrete wall and building out a 2x4 frame for it. I am unsure how i can run my plumbing along this exterior wall. The exterior wall is 2x4 with panelling over top sitting on 8" concrete. I want the plumbing to be hidden. Help please?
Attached Thumbnails
How can i run my plumbing?-1.jpg  

bcbud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 09:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bcbud3 View Post
I am wanting to reno my laundry. I plan on insulating the concrete wall and building out a 2x4 frame for it. I am unsure how i can run my plumbing along this exterior wall. The exterior wall is 2x4 with panelling over top sitting on 8" concrete. I want the plumbing to be hidden. Help please?
In Canada, the plumbing has to be on the warm side of the insulation. That's why it was run on the surface!
If you want to hide it, you could build a false wall in front of it!

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 96
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


You would need to cut and cap the plumbing, build the wall, then re-run the plumbing through the wall.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Occam's Razor - The simplest answer is probably the correct one.
JCAHILL4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JCAHILL4 View Post
You would need to cut and cap the plumbing, build the wall, then re-run the plumbing through the wall.

Hope this helps.
Why would this be necessary!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 12:36 AM   #5
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,750
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
Why would this be necessary!
Because it will take too long to cut the plumbing out, build the wall, and redo the plumbing. You would probably have to have your water off for a couple days.

You could reroute your waterlines up into the top corner of the room, and soffit them in.

Otherwise :

1 : turn off water. Cut plumbing out to where it won't be in the way

2 : cap lines, turn on water to make sure caps don't leak

3 : build wall

4 : drill holes and run waterlines through wall

5 : turn off water and make final connection

6 : turn on water and check for leaks

7 : Finish wall, and connect plumbing as needed outside of wall.

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 09:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
Because it will take too long to cut the plumbing out, build the wall, and redo the plumbing. You would probably have to have your water off for a couple days.

You could reroute your waterlines up into the top corner of the room, and soffit them in.

Otherwise :

1 : turn off water. Cut plumbing out to where it won't be in the way

2 : cap lines, turn on water to make sure caps don't leak

3 : build wall

4 : drill holes and run waterlines through wall

5 : turn off water and make final connection

6 : turn on water and check for leaks

7 : Finish wall, and connect plumbing as needed outside of wall.

Sorry, I should have been more explicate!
Is there a code requirement that says that the pipes should run through the studs?
Is there a problem leaving them where they are? They haven't fallen down, as yet, so its unlikely that they would after a false wall is placed in front of them?
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:39 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 113
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


I will be redoing all the plumbing anyways. Currently the washer and sink are about 15' away from the main drain/vent pipe. I want to move them closer. I will be reinsulating the wall as well. I think i might add to the 2x4 wall with some 2x2, reinsulate but leave the section where there will be pipe running down the wall only insulated to the 2x4.
bcbud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:29 AM   #8
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,750
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
Sorry, I should have been more explicate!
Is there a code requirement that says that the pipes should run through the studs?
Is there a problem leaving them where they are? They haven't fallen down, as yet, so its unlikely that they would after a false wall is placed in front of them?
There isn't a requirement to run them through studs, but there is one that says it has to be supported every-so-often depending on type of piping and size..

IMHO it would be faster to drill holes after the wall is up rather than notching each stud as you go along. Besides, If you're remodeling something, I would probably always vote for replacing waterlines before you cover them up. No sense in covering up old lines that could possibly leak soon, but-who-knows?
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:49 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: somewhere in the new world
Posts: 1
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


why don 't you just stub them out and then when you put your new wall up you won't have to cut holes and re-do you plumbing then? you'll have capped stub-outs ready to build off of.
frisco kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 08:09 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 113
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


i don't think i was clear enough. I am not planning on running my new 2x4 wall right up to the ceiling. Only high enough to cover the concrete. If iwas to run it up to the ceiling, i would haveapprox 6-7" of dead space between the new wall and existing exterior wall. I was thinking of furring out the exterior wall 2x4 with 2x2 but they are expensive!!
Attached Images
 
bcbud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 09:29 PM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Default

How can i run my plumbing?


you guys are making my head hurt!

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to find plumbing distributors for plumbing invention? Timster Plumbing 14 03-14-2014 08:55 AM
ALOT Of Help Needed for Plumbing ~FYE~ Plumbing 4 09-22-2009 12:28 AM
Sewer smell after hooking into plumbing vent daveyd Plumbing 10 08-10-2009 06:25 PM
new plumbing in kitchen What have I done Plumbing 1 07-29-2006 11:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.