How Can I Put My Kinetico Water Softener Back In Service? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 01:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 550
Rewards Points: 590
Default

How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?


As the title indicates, i'd like to put our Kinetico water softener back in service.

How would I go about doing this? What filters and things do I need to flush and check?

The unit is a Kinetico 60 water softener which the original owners of our house installed post-1996. I'm crossing my fingers that it won't cost too much to get this thing working again......

Specific advice and steps are welcomed.
Attached Thumbnails
How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?-photo-4.jpg   How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?-photo-5.jpg   How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?-photo-1.jpg   How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?-photo-2.jpg   How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?-photo-3.jpg  


Advertisement

noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Make sure the bybass is closed. You are using solar salt, which I don't recommend. I also don't recommend putting any more than half a brine tank full of salt. You make have salt bridging.
Do you know how to manually regenerate it?

Advertisement

Andy CWS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:15 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 550
Rewards Points: 590
Default


I know nothing about water softners. Any and all info on how to start this up and get working is appreciated.
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 01-06-2013, 09:21 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 34,448
Rewards Points: 14,026
Default


Why not just go on line and google the make and model and down load a manual so you can get up to speed on the one you have instead of just some genenal guesses?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 06:58 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Default


This may not the correct thread to ask these,questions, but I new to this forum post these questions. Thanks in advance for helping out.


I bought a*Kinetic model 60 off craigslist a couple years ago and installed it a couple weeks ago.


I first installed a sediment filter. The water seemingly improved taste with the filter.


After installing the water softener, the water seemed to have an slight*smell and did not seem softened.


In fact, the*incoming water TDS (pre-filter) was initially measured at 450ppm. After the water softener install, the TDS measured 650ppm.


I live in southern*California and I believe the water softener was setup for this area.


I have not gotten a*lab tested water sample performed yet. I think Watts will perform the test for me since I bought a their RO system.


However, it seems I have a more basic setup problem at this time. I have the #2 disc and I'm not sure what the float is set to.


When I initially regened the system (without salt), I thought the water should have filled up the brine tank higher. It only came up a*couple inches over the grill. From what I've read, this is normal.

I have*been looking for a tech setup*document*that*can tell me the proper setting*for the hardness of water.


Also, how can I tell if the media is spent?* Where can I get parts?

Thanks for your help!

Brett
bhp@msn.com
bhp61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 07:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,933
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Re: How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp61 View Post
This may not the correct thread to ask these,questions, but I new to this forum post these questions. Thanks in advance for helping out.


I bought a*Kinetic model 60 off craigslist a couple years ago and installed it a couple weeks ago.


I first installed a sediment filter. The water seemingly improved taste with the filter.


After installing the water softener, the water seemed to have an slight*smell and did not seem softened.


In fact, the*incoming water TDS (pre-filter) was initially measured at 450ppm. After the water softener install, the TDS measured 650ppm.


I live in southern*California and I believe the water softener was setup for this area.


I have not gotten a*lab tested water sample performed yet. I think Watts will perform the test for me since I bought a their RO system.


However, it seems I have a more basic setup problem at this time. I have the #2 disc and I'm not sure what the float is set to.


When I initially regened the system (without salt), I thought the water should have filled up the brine tank higher. It only came up a*couple inches over the grill. From what I've read, this is normal.

I have*been looking for a tech setup*document*that*can tell me the proper setting*for the hardness of water.


Also, how can I tell if the media is spent?* Where can I get parts?

Thanks for your help!

Brett
bhp@msn.com
If you put it on your cold water before your hot water tank, then the smell is normal. It will shorten the life of your tank. There's things that you can do to avoid it, but the biggest thing is to not use a softener before a hot water tank.

As for the setup, I don't use one so, I have no idea what you're doing wrong.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 10:24 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 13,286
Rewards Points: 13,368
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?


The point of using a softener is have soft water when you shower and wash clothes etc. If you don't soften the hot water why bother with a softener.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 06:50 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,933
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Re: How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The point of using a softener is have soft water when you shower and wash clothes etc. If you don't soften the hot water why bother with a softener.
I just pass on the info, what people do with it is up to them. Hot water manufacturers do have this warning on their sites, some right in the manuals.

Many people use cold/cool water up wash their clothes BTW.

I have no idea if they rate the softeners to hot water. If they do, you could put a second one after the tank. You'd just need 2.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 07:34 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,767
Rewards Points: 44
Default

Re: How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?


From personal experience, the soft water accelerates the frequency that the anode rod(s) in the HW tank need to be replaced. I have to change mine every 3 years.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 10:28 AM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 13,286
Rewards Points: 13,368
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?


Softener should also reduce the amount of hard water sediment in the hot water tank.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 04:49 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 533
Rewards Points: 402
Default

Re: How can I put my Kinetico water softener back in service?


Not to hijack the thread, but something that was brought up. You mentioned not putting softened water into the hot water heater. Does this only apply to a metal tank heater? I have a unit that has a plastic tank, and is heated off a coil running through it that is tied into my hot water boiler system. I believe it's an amtrol boilermate.

Advertisement

taylorjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Musty water from water softener tranders Plumbing 49 05-03-2014 01:17 PM
Water softener, reverse osmosis, filtration, injection etc. vendors review breeze01 Appliances 2 03-19-2012 11:38 AM
Grossly insufficient water supply to toilet wasting water? mysterylectric Plumbing 8 01-17-2012 11:19 AM
getting metals out of well water without a water softener? mlc28 Plumbing 6 11-19-2010 10:28 PM
Kinetico Water Softener - New House Has One And I Know Nothing About Them mark2741 Plumbing 3 09-22-2009 02:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1