Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-20-2013, 10:17 PM   #1

Share |

How to build a shower after bathtub removal?

Ive been researching for about 4 months now on how to replace my one piece fiberglass bathtub with a tiled shower stall. I have begun this project today. I have removed the tub and bathroom flooring so far. The tub was installed over the concrete slab. I am confused now since I saw the slab was cut around the drain at some point in the houses 27 year life. Its not a smooth or even cut either. It was filled with sand. Is this normal?

My question is: since the slab is cut aroud the drain and water pipes how do I build the shower the pan? Would I use 2x4's on the slab and plywood over that and moisture barrier and then mud, or fill in the whole with mud and go from there? Looking at the area, the drain is to the left. Should I center the drain or get a sloping kit and leave the drain where it is. It seems like it may be easier to add a plywood floor over 2x4's to allow room to run the drain piping.

The tubs over fill and drain hole appear to be one copper piece. It looks like it is secured to PVC with some sort of pressure fitting which is below the top of the concrete slab. It is accessible since it is surrounded by the sand.

Jn5685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:24 PM   #2
Doing it myself

Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan

First of all, you're in for a surprise : Your tub was likely plumbed with an 1-1/2" drain. Your shower will require a 2" drain or it will not operate properly.

That said, now you're in for a jack - hammering job and you may as well reroute the line to the center and do it right.