Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-14-2013, 07:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Hot water tank's pilot wont stay lit

So randomly my pilot light went out on my Kenmore Power Miser 6. Unfortunately no the thing wont light back up. I got through the relight procedure and everything goes ok until I let up on the button and then the flame goes out. It acts like I just turn the gas off as the flame dies down much slower than if it was blown out. I'm completely new to the gas hot water tanks so any advice would be helpful.

donavan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 07:10 AM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 2,368

The thermo coupling is shot----I'm not familiar with that model---on older ones--it's a quick fix with just a few dollars for the thermo coupling--

On the new sealed units----not so easy---most of those need parts from the manufacturer---

Old 03-14-2013, 07:23 AM   #3

OK I managed to find a mannual and I can seem to find the thermo coupling can you tell me what I am missing ?
Old 03-14-2013, 07:35 AM   #4
DIY staff

Use Google images----thermocouple----

coming out of the bottom of the gas control valve---you will see a thin copper tube---that's the thermocouple---the tip sits in the flame of the pilot light----and tells the gas valve that the pilot is lit---

If it dies---the gas valve thinks the pilot is not lit----and shuts off the gas----

On old style heaters the replacement is simple===on newer units with the burner cover and the little glass window---you are going to have to call a service man in or contact the maker for parts---
Old 03-14-2013, 07:41 AM   #5