Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-11-2008, 03:36 PM   #1

Share |

Hot water pressure

Hello all,

I apologize if this question has already been posted and answered, but I am a real novice at this and some of the answers for similar questions in the forum discuss steps that I honestly don't understand.

I recently bought an old house that has been remodeled in the last 10-15 years and the upstairs shower has great cold water pressure, but very weak hot water pressure. From the threads I have read it seems the culprit could be debris in the pipes obstructing free flow of hot water. My hot water heater is about 15 years old as well.

How can I solve this problem without calling a plumber? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I would ask though to please speak in layman terms - this area is completely foreign to me. Some previous threads mentioned cartridges - what the heck is a cartridge? HELP...

Thanks!

Last edited by ibrickyo; 01-11-2008 at 03:38 PM.
ibrickyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 04:22 PM   #2

Hot water pressure

Before you start dismantling things and opening up walls.....

If it's an old house that had a remodel, were hot and cold shutoffs added before the shower? If so, the hot water shutoff may have been turned down by the previous owner to restrict usage and save on the heating bills.

If not, perhaps the shower valve - if it's a single handle style - has a built-in blending adjustment on it. Look behind the plate inside the wall. A few of them are real dirtbags to get correctly adjusted. Some are a straight mix, some are a cold water balancing style. I'd check the shower valve itself.

I doubt it's an obstruction but anything's possible.

Lastly, did the hot water line have a "pusher" pump installed on it? If yes, then the pump may have been unplugged or is simply inoperative.

End Grain is offline   Reply With Quote