Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-27-2008, 08:57 PM   #1

Share |

Hot Water Heater Installation Cost

I am a student at the University of Georgia, and I am doing research for my senior thesis. As part of my research, I need to find out how much the cost of installing hot water heaters varies across America.

I am interested in how much it costs for the hot water heater itself plus the labor to install the unit (the total cost to the consumer). This is for replacing a hot water heater, so all piping is already in place. I know the cost varies widely based on a number of factors, but I am only interested in an average cost for the unit plus labor.

If you work for a company that installs hot water heaters, could you please give me an estimated average cost to the consumer for your company to replace their hot water heater? I do not need to know the name of your company, but please include what state you work in.

Thank you so much for your help!
-Phil Stewart

philstewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 09:29 PM   #2

Water heaters range from $200 for a cheap small one to over $2500 for a tankless and extra venting.

You want prices you will have to be more specific unless you want to compare apples and oranges.

Old 10-28-2008, 04:19 PM   #3

Let me try to narrow my question. I know there are cheap and expensive extremes, but I am looking for the most common cost. If you had to choose one level of hot water heaters that the average family in a three bedroom home has installed, how much do you charge for its installation? Let me know if I need to further clarify, and I appreciate your input!
Old 10-28-2008, 04:28 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by philstewart View Post