Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-02-2009, 08:13 PM   #1

Share |

help with choosing whole house softener and filter

Sorry if this has been brought up but when i search everything i find is years old. My parents live in Palm springs and on city water. the water is hard. the shower is always clogged and stained. hard to even wash the windows. i am looking for a complete system and i am confused. i am looking to spend around $1,500-$2,500 or so. i see the pelican system and life source. was wondering if anyone had any ideas of what is better and if anything else would be better. i live in san francsico and our water is fine so now one around here sells them.

thanks
chris

hjscm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:33 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

I'm not a pro or expert on water softener and conditioning systems, but we bought a Watercare Elan system for $2,200 a little over a year ago.
In addition to softening the very hard water that we have here, it has a charcoal filter that removes chlorine, etc. odor and taste before the softener. We're on county water, but can switch to our well if necessary.
We have such good water with this system now, that we actually completely stopped buying any bottled water. Our tap water is crystal clear and tastes great now, and this system regenerates from volume use, not a timer, and it uses much less salt than our old softener.
Mike

Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:36 AM   #3

I'm trying to find a replacement system that is affordable and requires less maintenance. I have a prefilter before the softner. I had a Kenmore softener in place but am looking at the Waterboss 900 to help filter Iron and soften the water. I'm on well water.

Thanks.

Denny
stressdspook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 06:54 AM   #4