Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-03-2012, 01:47 AM   #1

Share |

HELP! Cannot detach water supply line

Hi, I'm brand new to the whole DIY plumbing thing, and I'm trying to replace my bathroom faucet (I'm a new home owner). I started to remove the old bathroom faucet, and everything was going well until it came time to detach the water supply line. The sink I'm removing is a ball faucet, and the only place to remove the supply lines is at the shut-off valve. However, I'm finding it impossible to remove the lines from the supply valve. I'm not even sure it's possible because it seems to be completely attached. Could anyone give me any advice on how to proceed? I want to just get rid of these supply lines and replace them, but I can't get them unattached at all. I'm including links to the pictures of my problem, so hopefully that will help. I'm at a complete loss here

img 1: http://imgur.com/2jbR4,kiHq8,KEP8O#0
img 2: http://imgur.com/2jbR4,kiHq8,KEP8O#1
img 3: http://imgur.com/2jbR4,kiHq8,KEP8O#2

Thanks in advance!

jboggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:57 AM   #2

As you likely don't know how to solder I'd suggest using compression fittings:
Get a tubing cutter:
http://www.lowes.com/pd_330219-16878...RL=&facetInfo=

Cut copper tubing about 1" from existing valve.

Get 3/8" compression x 1/2" male pipe thread:
http://www.lowes.com/pd_27258-104-A-...AID=1023483493

You won't need the brass insert since you have copper lines (needed if plastic).

Get faucet supply:
http://www.lowes.com/pd_75746-104-LF...r|1&facetInfo=

Use pipe dope on threads to faucet supply hose end and brass 1/2" male thread and connect.

Now you can connect the faucet supply to the 3/8" copper line coming out of the existing shut off valve.
Attached Images

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bob22 For This Useful Post: