Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-30-2011, 05:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Have hot water question


I am putting a addition on my house. Furnace and hot water tank on opposite side that addition is being added on. My house is on a concrete slab. I am thinking of running a cold water line around outside of house and adding a tank-less water heater to service new addition. Which will be 2 bathrooms and a laundry room. Total distance is about 60'. Is this right way to do it.

ckny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:05 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,673
Default

Have hot water question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ckny View Post
I am putting a addition on my house. Furnace and hot water tank on opposite side that addition is being added on. My house is on a concrete slab. I am thinking of running a cold water line around outside of house and adding a tank-less water heater to service new addition. Which will be 2 bathrooms and a laundry room. Total distance is about 60'. Is this right way to do it.
Ayuh,... Where do ya live,..?? What's the climate,..??

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 6
Default

Have hot water question


New Jersey...
ckny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 270
Default

Have hot water question


The pipe needs to run through conditioned space or be buried below the frost level for your location.
Bob999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 6
Default

Have hot water question


I was going to run 2" PVC underground below frost line like 36 inches. Then run 3/4 or 1" PEX thru that.
ckny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Mark Potter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 214
Default

Have hot water question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ckny
I am putting a addition on my house. Furnace and hot water tank on opposite side that addition is being added on. My house is on a concrete slab. I am thinking of running a cold water line around outside of house and adding a tank-less water heater to service new addition. Which will be 2 bathrooms and a laundry room. Total distance is about 60'. Is this right way to do it.
Sounds all good what state do u live? I'm shore it's not going to freeze outside. Lol
Mark Potter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:55 PM   #7
Member
 
Mark Potter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 214
Default

Have hot water question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Potter

Sounds all good what state do u live? I'm shore it's not going to freeze outside. Lol
Oh I just got every ones reply's? On this thread Opps disregard my question that was already asked lol
Mark Potter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 06:56 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 6
Default

Have hot water question


New Jersey. Just wanted to make sure that running a tank-less water heater is the best option and there is not a better way to do it using existing furnace and hot water storage tank.
Thanks
ckny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 07:05 PM   #9
Member
 
Mark Potter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 214
Default

Have hot water question


If it's new jersey ? I wouldn't r u building addic as well? How big is your cold feed line that your running?
Mark Potter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 07:26 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 6
Default

Have hot water question


There will be a small attic space. There is no way to get there from existing basement area without destroying a bunch of existing house.
ckny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 07:50 PM   #11
Member
 
Mark Potter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 214
Default

Have hot water question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ckny
There will be a small attic space. There is no way to get there from existing basement area without destroying a bunch of existing house.
The best way to do this line is through a small Chase either on top or bottom corner of the new edition.
Mark Potter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 08:00 PM   #12
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,808
Default

Have hot water question


PVC? Wouldn't PEX be a better option? Less likely to break just in case it does freeze..
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 08:42 PM   #13
Member
 
Mark Potter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 214
Default

Have hot water question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16
PVC? Wouldn't PEX be a better option? Less likely to break just in case it does freeze..
If it needs to be outside below the frost line run low voltage heating wire with it.

HP Properties Capital Projects
Mark Potter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 09:07 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 6
Default

Have hot water question


Thanks for the help everyone. I'm sure I will have some more questions as project gets going.
ckny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 09:13 PM   #15
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Have hot water question


I would add a tank water heater before a tankless one. Gas is not that bad, but electric are huge energy hogs.

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Leaking water line needs new water regulator? huynh Plumbing 16 11-04-2010 11:32 AM
Yet another sump pump / pit question SeanFlynn Plumbing 0 01-24-2010 01:07 PM
No water draining into sump pit aci4369 Plumbing 2 08-18-2009 12:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.