Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2008, 08:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Greetings from Canada...


Good Readership...

I have, in my basement, a 1/2" copper n.g. line feeding a gas f.p. on the main floor. It is convenient to the area where I'd like to install a n.g. stove as part of a basement kitchen. Can I "T" off this 1/2" line a run more 1/2" copper a short distance ( about 5' in total ) to the range? The 1/2" feed originates about 25' away. The feed from the meter is 1" black pipe, it feeds a gas furnace & gas water heater right where it enters the house; I've already T'd off of this pipe to supply my bbq. ( about 25' of 1/2" copper ), the previously mentioned main floor f.p., & a 3/8" line ( 18' ) feeding a soon-to-be-installed basement gas f.p.

I appreciate your input folks!

Regards,
DSD


Last edited by DeepSeaDan; 02-29-2008 at 11:12 AM.
DeepSeaDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 09:38 AM   #2
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Greetings from Canada...


Dan,
That may be something that you can get done free by your gas company. Have you given them a call about it?
Mike

Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 05:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Greetings from Canada...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Swearingen View Post
Dan,
That may be something that you can get done free by your gas company. Have you given them a call about it?
Mike
...I can't see this as being anything to hire a gas-fitter to do, they'd charge a bundle! I've worked with lots of plumbing before & am comfortable doing the install, it's just a code compliance issue.

I'll have to go to the local Home Depot & ask, they usually know the local code requirements for the area.

Thanks for the response.

DSD
DeepSeaDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi! from Vancovuer Canada! mrmac204 Introductions 2 12-04-2007 04:34 AM
Greetings from Ontario, Canada! hamiltonian Introductions 3 05-10-2007 07:09 AM
Where the heck is Canada woodmagman Introductions 4 04-17-2007 04:12 PM
Hello from Toronto, Canada mcvane Introductions 15 03-28-2007 02:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.