DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Plumbing (http://www.diychatroom.com/f7/)
-   -   Getting an Inspection. Will my DIY plumbing pass or have problems? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f7/getting-inspection-will-my-diy-plumbing-pass-have-problems-133217/)

tibasnatch 02-10-2012 01:14 AM

Getting an Inspection. Will my DIY plumbing pass or have problems?
 
I finished off my basement 1/2 bath by myself and everything works great and no leaks at all....we are selling our house and they are going to do an inspection....do u see any problems in pictures?

thanks

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/b...210_000257.jpg

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/b...210_000315.jpg

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/b...210_000332.jpg

this one is just an electric box I put in....

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/b...210_000340.jpg

rjniles 02-10-2012 06:53 AM

The electric cable is not secured properly.

Is the supply pipe PVC or CPVC? CPVC is OK, PVC is not for hot supply.

ddawg16 02-10-2012 08:11 AM

The Romex needs to be secured closer to the box....too much slack....in other words....your big loop hanging out there. And it looks like you removed the plastic 'clamp' on one side of the box. The Romex is supposed to be secured at the box entry...some inspectors will ding you for it...others not.

Your plumbing looks like PVC....if it is PVC, not legal for hot water....I personally would never use it inside a house for any water....care to guess what kind of mess your going to have when someone breaks off one of those ends? At a min, I would have ran the pipe to a copper stub secured to a stud. You then make your utility connections to the copper stub....

Me thinks your going to be redoing all of that.....

sorethumber 02-10-2012 10:28 AM

Uhoh, Did you use CPVC glue (the orange stuff) on your PVC DWV lines?

The sink drain looks like it needs more support.

The excess loop on the romex is fine but the staple should be within 6 inches of the box. Is that 14 awg wire servicing a recepticle? I ask that because it's white and most all 12 awg wire I've seen in the last 10 years has been yellow. I think you'll need and want a dedicated 20 amp circut for the bathroom, therefore 12ga wire would be required. Hair dryers and curling irons suck amprage.

joecaption 02-10-2012 10:43 AM

Why the long spans between the studs?
Pluming is unsupport for to long a span, no support where the shut off is.
Plumbing installed to close the the face of the stud, should have been in the middle.
Why is some in the wall and some is outside?
If I had to deal with that I'd just cut it all out and start over using Pex.
Unless that inspector shows up with a white cane and a guide dog it's not going to pass.

NitroNate 02-10-2012 11:29 AM

are you allowed to thread cpvc/pvc straight into copper like that at the T junctions? i always thought you needed a transition coupling that had brass male or female thread on it.

tibasnatch 02-10-2012 12:51 PM

well the electric will be an easy fix just restaple....I will try and find a way to support the sink shut off better....tey hot and cols IS the same pipe...thats what the guys at home depot gave me when I told them what I was doing.

its possible they wont even do an inspection its been 4 days of there 10 day period....if i wanted one id want it done asap.....if they do and it fails which sounds like it will...i dont see a huge job for me to rerun it or use the PEX like stated above.

please keep giving honest opinions.

TheEplumber 02-10-2012 04:24 PM

Inspector may not care- they're not that bright- but, you have too many 90's in the trap arm

silversport 02-10-2012 04:32 PM

Does your contract say that repairs must be performed by a licensed professional? If so, you'll obviously want to fix everything before the inspection.

sorethumber 02-10-2012 04:50 PM

Is this an inspection by the local municipality for code enforcement? Or is this a private "inspection" arranged by a potential buyer as a contingency for the purchace? If its the latter I'd say you've got little to worry about. If however if its the former get ready to do some work.

COLDIRON 02-10-2012 05:39 PM

Don't like the electrical timer ? box in the first picture I think it should be mounted to wood secure and adequate wire connections.

tibasnatch 02-10-2012 07:09 PM

it is just someone buying my house f they decide to get an inspection.....the grey box u see was actually hung there by the water company themselves.

creeper 02-10-2012 07:41 PM

The reason they haven't scheduled the inspection yet is likely because they are making sure that they get financing first. Why pay for an inspection if you can't get approved for a mortgage. If they asked for an inspection, expect one

joecaption 02-10-2012 08:28 PM

Rule #1 never lisen to anyone at a box store. If they knew what they were talking about they sure would not be working for $9.00 an hour.
Rule #2 Read rule #1.
Just took another look. You have primer on just one joint on the PVC all the rest have what's looks like sloped on PVC cement.
Big no no.

TheEplumber 02-10-2012 08:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joecaption (Post 849960)
Rule #1 never lisen to anyone at a box store. If they knew what they were talking about they sure would not be working for $9.00 an hour.
Rule #2 Read rule #1.

Specially if he wear an apron :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved