Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2010, 10:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE 40,000 Grain Water Softener


GE Water 40,000 Grain Water Softener
We just installed this model. Unfortuneately, where the water supply comes into the house, there is not a drain. A few questions:
1) Can we simply run flexible tubing from the unit to our sump pump/drain area (which is about 50ft away)
2) We put in a 40lb bag of salt? Is that sufficient? Or, is it better to add more?
3) In regards to the recharge function, what is the "formula" that calculates when a recharge is needed??? I ask, b/c we had the unit installed on a Friday, and by Monday (at 2am.......which is the recharge default time), a recharge occured. And, maybe I need clarification on what the recharge function is, and what's supposed to occur? when a recharge is called upon, is the entire water supply in the unit supposed to drain out of the softener and into the drain (or in our case a vynal storage containter)? This was a slight problem, b/c the amount of water from the recharge overflowed our container.
Feedback please!!!

soxcycling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:50 PM   #2
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

GE 40,000 Grain Water Softener


You need to run the line to a drain.
http://www.popularmechanics.com/home...s/1275126.html

will show you how it works. some use more water then other to recharge.

Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GE 40,000 Grain Water Softener


Quote:
Originally Posted by soxcycling View Post
GE Water 40,000 Grain Water Softener
We just installed this model. Unfortuneately, where the water supply comes into the house, there is not a drain. A few questions:
1) Can we simply run flexible tubing from the unit to our sump pump/drain area (which is about 50ft away) Yes
2) We put in a 40lb bag of salt? Is that sufficient? Or, is it better to add more? It is sufficient for the initial supply provided the water is above the water level but will need replenishment--the time depends on your water hardness and your water usage.
3) In regards to the recharge function, what is the "formula" that calculates when a recharge is needed??? I ask, b/c we had the unit installed on a Friday, and by Monday Recharge depends on your hardness which you should have programmed into the unit and your water usage. I don't believe there are any other settings available to the user on the GE unit.(at 2am.......which is the recharge default time), a recharge occured. And, maybe I need clarification on what the recharge function is, and what's supposed to occur? when a recharge is called upon, is the entire water supply in the unit supposed to drain out of the softener and into the drain (or in our case a vynal storage containter)? YES This was a slight problem, b/c the amount of water from the recharge overflowed our container.
Feedback please!!!
See answers above.
Bob999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 07:38 PM   #4
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GE 40,000 Grain Water Softener


If there is a pump in the pit I would not. The salt water is not good for the pump.
__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 08:30 PM   #5
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

GE 40,000 Grain Water Softener


I was just going to ask about that. What about if you can't run the line to a drain and have to run it to the sump pimp. Will the water eventually kill the sump pump ??
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 10:13 PM   #6
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GE 40,000 Grain Water Softener


yup, eventually being a fairly short time
__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 02:05 AM   #7
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

GE 40,000 Grain Water Softener


So say someone has a crawlspace and/or no drain near the water softener where else could you run one of those plastic drain hoses too?
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 06:20 AM   #8
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GE 40,000 Grain Water Softener


You can run it to the outside as long as you dont kill the wifes rose bush.

__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bad valve washing machine?? drdon51 Plumbing 6 06-29-2009 02:02 PM
Help with Water Softener TTran Plumbing 5 05-27-2009 07:08 PM
Refurbishing a water softener? Good idea? bugmenot Plumbing 4 02-07-2009 07:26 AM
Water softener salt hog sk8z Appliances 5 10-10-2008 07:49 AM
Water Softener wont stop draining help TTran Plumbing 3 08-24-2008 09:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.