Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 06:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

gas meter plug


After a fire restoration in our home I am trying to light our gas FP (the only gas appliance we have) and find there is no gas coming to the FP. The gas is on at the meter. The plummer tells us that there is an installed plug in the meter that blocks gas from entering the house and he doesn't have a tool to remove it, but the gas company says they have not plugged the meter. I assume it may have been plugged at the time of the fire by the remodeling people or the fire dept.. How do I remove this plug?

fordeject001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:30 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,220
Default

gas meter plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by fordeject001 View Post
After a fire restoration in our home I am trying to light our gas FP (the only gas appliance we have) and find there is no gas coming to the FP. The gas is on at the meter. The plummer tells us that there is an installed plug in the meter that blocks gas from entering the house and he doesn't have a tool to remove it, but the gas company says they have not plugged the meter. I assume it may have been plugged at the time of the fire by the remodeling people or the fire dept.. How do I remove this plug?
Contact the fire DEPT, the local code DEPT and the gas Company. They will have the answers not the internet on this one.

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to COLDIRON For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-20-2012)
Old 01-20-2012, 07:44 AM   #3
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,304
Default

gas meter plug


Itís a puck, gets put in to a union just after the meter, you canít see it unless you pull the union apart better let the gas company look for it. If thatís what they used.
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 01:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,220
Default

gas meter plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by Javiles View Post
Itís a puck, gets put in to a union just after the meter, you canít see it unless you pull the union apart better let the gas company look for it. If thatís what they used.
Should be red tagged and locked.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to COLDIRON For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (01-20-2012)
Old 01-20-2012, 06:52 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

gas meter plug


I called the gas company and without looking they just tell me there is no plug in the meter, but the plumber for the restoration company tells me there is, but he never left the house to reach this conclusiuon. I have gas going into the meter, no visible shutoff between the house entry and the FB, but still when I pull the line at the valve to the FP, I have no gas.

Looks like I will just have to live without a FP.
fordeject001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 07:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 597
Default

gas meter plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by fordeject001 View Post
I called the gas company and without looking they just tell me there is no plug in the meter, but the plumber for the restoration company tells me there is, but he never left the house to reach this conclusiuon. I have gas going into the meter, no visible shutoff between the house entry and the FB, but still when I pull the line at the valve to the FP, I have no gas.

Looks like I will just have to live without a FP.
Call the gas company and tell them that you don't have gas. They'll at least have to verify that they have gas leaving the meter, and while they're doing that, they can see if your meter has been, in fact, plugged. It could even be an obstruction before the meter, it doesn't happen very often, but it does occasionally.
hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 07:38 PM   #7
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

gas meter plug


Does the gas company have another shut off at the street?
Could there be another shutoff someplace in the basement that got turned off?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,275
Default

gas meter plug


plummen makes a good point thought when there is a fire at a location all utilities are cut to property and gas is shut off at street????
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:22 PM   #9
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

gas meter plug


Some areas have a stop box for the gas out by the sidewalk or street like a water stopbox if you have an old gas meter in basement
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:26 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,275
Default

gas meter plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Some areas have a stop box for the gas out by the sidewalk or street like a water stopbox if you have an old gas meter in basement
yep most have curb boxes....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 09:02 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 597
Default

gas meter plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
yep most have curb boxes....
Not where I live. Only commercial customers have a curb cock (I refuse to be PC and call it a curb box or curb stop ).

hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac benny For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-20-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Meter Out of Control cdeliopo Plumbing 16 01-08-2012 10:08 PM
Drop Wire (From Weatherhead to Meter) roadman1977 Electrical 7 12-24-2011 11:35 AM
Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet? Smoked Electrical 9 10-14-2011 03:56 PM
Is My Electric Meter Correct: Conclusion. fcfcfc Electrical 0 10-03-2010 06:00 PM
How does electricity meter calculate kwh? deerhunter Off Topic 18 09-06-2010 08:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.