Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2011, 06:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

gas line, ahhhh


so Im doing some remodeling and Im having an issue with my gas service. The meter currently sits outside the window and my gas line enters the house less than 3 feet from an openable window. So that needs to move. I would like to run the gas line underground and have it come in now in my kitchen. Questions: how far underground does the pipe need to be, how far can I run pipe (versus move the meter- which sounds like a nightmare), and how far from the electrical box do I have to be? I've asked and NO ONE seems to be able to answer me these questions and inspectors are impossible to get a hold of.

Thanks!

mcf01004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,325
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


Quote:
Originally Posted by mcf01004 View Post
so Im doing some remodeling and Im having an issue with my gas service. The meter currently sits outside the window and my gas line enters the house less than 3 feet from an openable window. So that needs to move. I would like to run the gas line underground and have it come in now in my kitchen. Questions: how far underground does the pipe need to be, how far can I run pipe (versus move the meter- which sounds like a nightmare), and how far from the electrical box do I have to be? I've asked and NO ONE seems to be able to answer me these questions and inspectors are impossible to get a hold of.

Thanks!
1st off don't know if your gas supplier will let you just move your line without them approving it.....check with them 1st

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-30-2011)
Old 12-30-2011, 07:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


yes, I asked, that isn't an issue because the gas is off. total remodel.
mcf01004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:23 PM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


Check with a local plumber
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 601
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


Quote:
Originally Posted by mcf01004 View Post
so Im doing some remodeling and Im having an issue with my gas service. The meter currently sits outside the window and my gas line enters the house less than 3 feet from an openable window. So that needs to move. I would like to run the gas line underground and have it come in now in my kitchen. Questions: how far underground does the pipe need to be, how far can I run pipe (versus move the meter- which sounds like a nightmare), and how far from the electrical box do I have to be? I've asked and NO ONE seems to be able to answer me these questions and inspectors are impossible to get a hold of.

Thanks!
Who told you that your gas line entering the house has to move? The gas piping can run right across the middle of your window. The clearance issue would be with the service regulator, which needs 3' clearance from an opening window, providing that it's relief capacity is 1900 SCF/H or less. In this case, your options would be to notify the gas company of the hazard and they will take appropriate action which could be moving the service, venting the regulator or installing an OPCO regulator. Of course, all this information is based on the gas codes and regulations for my location, since I have no clue where you live. Answering the rest of your questions is pointless until we ascertain exactly why you think you need to move your gas line.
hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:58 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


I'm guessing that is the issue. The inspector told me the gas service must be 3' from an opening window, but I'm thinking that he didn't mean the gas pipe now. Before the gas company moves it though, I need to pass plumbing inspection and plumbing won't pass until service is moved- great teamwork, huh? :-/
mcf01004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:59 PM   #7
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


Thats typical!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 08:06 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


When it comes to dealing with gas line shut off or not, I believe that is something that a do-it-youselfer should not touch or deal with. Hire a licensed plumber to properly deal with the gas line. And plus, they can deal better with inspectors and gas company.
#1plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 08:09 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


thats the problem. my plumber has been doing this and can't get his stuff together...
mcf01004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 08:42 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,325
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


Quote:
Originally Posted by mcf01004 View Post
thats the problem. my plumber has been doing this and can't get his stuff together...
real simple..GET A NEW PLUMBER...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
COLDIRON (12-31-2011), plummen (12-30-2011)
Old 12-30-2011, 10:04 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


not so simple when there is loss of money and time involved
mcf01004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 11:43 PM   #12
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


Quote:
Originally Posted by mcf01004 View Post
not so simple when there is loss of money and time involved
Thatís why we have judge Judy.
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 06:27 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,325
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas line, ahhhh


Quote:
Originally Posted by mcf01004 View Post
not so simple when there is loss of money and time involved
I have never been paid for no work that was not finished... if he is not working to your contract spects or as you say its dragging,on again get a new plumber,..SHOULD NOT LOOSE MONEY...IF HE DON'T WORK HE DON'T GET PAID EITHER......

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charge line from car to trailer Scardey eCat Electrical 7 10-24-2010 10:38 PM
Water line to fridge, actually -in- 'subflooring', not under?? Anonyone Plumbing 5 10-16-2010 06:31 PM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 03:10 PM
Add natural gas line Tukeeman Plumbing 11 12-01-2008 07:53 AM
Condensate Line schott HVAC 17 06-02-2008 03:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.