Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 12:42 AM   #1
BPC
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


I'd like to see of anyone has done this before and if this method of routing a gas line has passed inspection.

I recently took down a load bearing wall with the help of an architect friend, to open up the kitchen and in turn made a peninsula out of the existing counter top.

The original cook-top was electric, but I want to install a new gas cook-top in its place. Since I can't notch or drill through the support column I was forced to run the gas line and electrical (in conduit) around the column above the cabinets. Everything is bolted to the wall and seems to be secure, but a neighbor (who is a HVAC guy by trade) came over and acted like this wasn't proper and told me I should drill through the support column, which I don't want to do. The whole thing is hidden by the crown molding on the cabinet.

I haven't gotten any inspections for this project, so I can't just go and ask the inspector what to do. I'm too far into the project now to go and try and pull permits. My architect friend did all the calculations for the beam and wasn't uncomfortable not pulling the permits, but the electrical and plumbing was my deal to work out.

Here is a few pictures to look at. Any advice would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets-dscn3072.jpg   Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets-dscn3076.jpg   Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets-dscn3073.jpg  

Advertisement

BPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:30 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


How do you know if the gas line is sized properly, or the gas meter and regulator can handle the increased load?

Advertisement

hvac benny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:36 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,774
Rewards Points: 664
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


Please go back and add your location to your profile.
Most areas you would need a permit and a licenced plumber with an added gas licence or the gas company to do that work.
Looks like you did nice neat work just may not be legal.
What's that "support beam" supporting that you were afraid to bore into?
Wall studs get bored out all the time for gas lines.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:03 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,626
Rewards Points: 2,160
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Most areas you would need a permit and a licenced plumber with an added gas licence or the gas company to do that work.
With that being said,

There is no special science/tools to threading already threaded black pipe into fittings and being leak-free.

A couple pair of pliers and some elmers glue is all you need.

Of course some common sense is required.

I can't recall of any "accidental" natural gas explosions caused by a homeowner running gas lines.

Last edited by hammerlane; 02-04-2013 at 07:36 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:15 AM   #5
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,316
Rewards Points: 3,272
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


That looks legal from here---except you are missing the steel nail stopping plates as they cross the studs--

Every area is different as far as who can run gas line----home owner can do it in many areas---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:22 AM   #6
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,465
Rewards Points: 718
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


You cant conceal a sediment trap , if that's what i am looking at. and whats in the white pipe in the wall water, drain or vent ?? gas pipe must have a min, six inch clearance around it ei water electrical piping. finally that gas line needs to be bonded. also is that galvanize pipe gas approved not all galvanize pipe is legal to use on gas. just be careful my friend looks likes a good job, but with gas you need to go above and beyond for safety s sake.
__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net

Last edited by Javiles; 02-04-2013 at 08:38 AM.
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:31 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


Looks like nice work to me. Sometimes in a remodel you can not always follow code. I hope 1/2 inch is going to be enough for your new cook top. I never remember putting a drip leg in the wall, but do not see why it would matter.
paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:37 AM   #8
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,669
Rewards Points: 2,096
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


Pliers to join gas pipe? There is this company called Rigid....................
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:22 AM   #9
BPC
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


You're right, the nail stops aren't installed yet, but I have them.

Yes that is a sediment trap and that was the idea of my neighbor (the licensed HVAC guy) which I wasn't a fan of. I just had an elbow there before. I'm going to remove it. He said to put it there because of the vertical drop.

The pipe and fitting are all black steel, not galvanized.

The pipe is 1/2" and will be tapped into the 1" trunk line at the furnace. How the line runs in this house is that from the meter outside, it runs in 1" pipe with no taps, straight to a 1" tee in the furnace closet, which then splits it off to 1/2" going to water heater and 1/2" going to furnace in the same closet. What I was going to do was install another 1" tee and split this again, so I have a 1" tee feeding the furnace and the cook-top.

The column supports a 20' beam, so that's why I can't drill into it. At least that is what the architect told me. He didn't want any holes made in that column.

There's no way I can get 6" clearance from the conduit. The gas pipe is bonded already and so is the conduit. I couldn't find any reference in the fuel gas code, IRC, or NEC about black pipe touching conduit.

The white pipe is a vent pipe that I has to reroute. It will go next to all of the other pipes secured to the wall. It's 1-1/2" PVC.

Last edited by BPC; 02-04-2013 at 10:25 AM. Reason: Added more information
BPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:24 AM   #10
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,657
Rewards Points: 2,626
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
That looks legal from here---except you are missing the steel nail stopping plates as they cross the studs--

Every area is different as far as who can run gas line----home owner can do it in many areas---
Yep....they look like this...



Quote:
Originally Posted by Javiles View Post
You cant conceal a sediment trap , if that's what i am looking at. and whats in the white pipe in the wall water, drain or vent ?? gas pipe must have a min, six inch clearance around it ei water electrical piping. finally that gas line needs to be bonded. also is that galvanize pipe gas approved not all galvanize pipe is legal to use on gas. just be careful my friend looks likes a good job, but with gas you need to go above and beyond for safety s sake.
Couldn't he put an access door under the cabinet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jagans View Post
Pliers to join gas pipe? There is this company called Rigid....................
hammerlane does on occasion show a sense of humor.....this was one of them.

For the record....I did all of my own gas pipe....yes, I have permits....but here in California, a homeowner can pretty much do anything he wants....as long as he has the permits....in fact, I don't know of anything we are NOT allowed to do....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:25 AM   #11
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,762
Rewards Points: 2,024
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


Nail stops are not required for steel pipe where i'm at.

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:00 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan
Nail stops are not required for steel pipe where i'm at.

Not in Canada either. They're only required for gas tubing (ie. copper and CSST).
hvac benny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:06 AM   #13
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,657
Rewards Points: 2,626
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


See that white PVC pipe? Assuming 1.5" in dia....I'm sure it's closer than 1.5" to the edge....that is what needs nail stop....

Personally, when in doubt...I put on nail stop....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:28 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,626
Rewards Points: 2,160
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jagans View Post
Pliers to join gas pipe? There is this company called Rigid....................

you question pliers being used to join the black pipe but nothing about the Elmers glue?? You did see the laughing emoticons after that statement. See ddawg16's quote below.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
hammerlane does on occasion show a sense of humor.....this was one of them.
Good assumption ddawg!
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:24 PM   #15
Master Plumber
 
Javiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,465
Rewards Points: 718
Default

Gas Line Above Kitchen Cabinets


not to get picky but he's got pressure fittings on that vent, thats why i asked about the white pipe. and for the poster that wondered why you cant conceal a sediment trap, at some point they may need to be cleaned.

Advertisement

__________________


Experience is Knowing what to do next, Skill is knowing how to do it

http://www.americandrain.net
Javiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing soffit above kitchen cabinets somecallmemike Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 17 09-27-2012 01:37 PM
Antiquing kitchen cabinets Beeba Painting 1 09-17-2012 08:22 PM
Kitchen Cabinets - ready to assemble kind sbmfj Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 3 08-24-2012 06:02 AM
Refinishing/painting kitchen cabinets Cobrakillert Painting 4 03-05-2011 03:15 PM
What color to paint kitchen cabinets? kimberland30 Interior Decorating 19 11-28-2009 04:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts