Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2013, 10:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

gas enough to go around


When i moved into my house it had a gas hot water, baseboard heating, boiler system.
No other gas appliances. I have since put in a little gas heater for bathroom, and a gas hot water heater.

I am now wanting to put a 30 inch gas range on the same gas line feed, would there be a problem in doing this? I have read such things, as checking to see if the pressure is there to allow this, but, this is my argument for not having to check this ,,, am i wrong????

I live in the city with city gas line , i am quite sure that i would not have the only house that would have this many gas hook ups, others have this many and
maybe more. A
All help greatly appreciated

mowpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 11:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,221
Rewards Points: 16
Default

gas enough to go around


That would entirely depend on your gas line size and distance. Does your house have a 1 inch main gas line?

Ghostmaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 11:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,526
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas enough to go around


There are many things to consider when adding gas appliances, but the first consideration is the size of the pipe serving your house. For example, a 1/2" line will only fire a combined 45000 btu over a measured distance of 100'.

So a few questions that that need to be answered are in order to give you the correct response are;

- What is the size of the line that serves your house?,
- What the maximum output ratings of all the appliances you currently have connected? You'll find that info on each units ratings plate.
- What are the ratings of the units that you would like to install?

There's lots more info needed, but lets start with the basics and go from there.
VIPlumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 08:23 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas enough to go around


40,000 for hotwater ,,, boiler is 120,000 and 96,000 out, line feed is 1 inch 3/8 outside dia.
mowpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 08:26 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas enough to go around


Seems that i have to post in short choppy answers,, for some reason browser, shuts down when i am in the middle of responding
mowpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 08:28 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas enough to go around


I have not looked into ranges, yet is there no industry standard that could be substituted fot now? Line needed to hook stove up will be approx, 34 feet
mowpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 09:03 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,109
Rewards Points: 118
Default

gas enough to go around


Gas line needs to be sized for the total draw and length of the line.

If your gas line is 1" black pipe, measuring 1-1/4" OD. At 40 total length of 60 foot(includes equivalent length of fittings), it will handle your current load(160,000 BTUs) plus another 35,000 BTUs. Meaning you would notice a slight drop in your range performance when all appliances are running using the rated input.

If total length is longer then 60. Either the whole line will need to be resize, or a separate line an for the range.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 10:21 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas enough to go around


What size pipe should i use from the line into house area to the range 34 feet away then?
mowpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 02:40 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,109
Rewards Points: 118
Default

gas enough to go around


Probably going up to a 1-1/4" line would handle your full load.


Steel pipe is measured by its inside diameter.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 03:09 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas enough to go around


Pipe service to house is 1 inch, and you suggest to run this same size to a 30 inch range????
I have seen a lot of things in construction but never a one inch gas pipe for a range, how old did you say you were?
mowpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 03:11 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas enough to go around


I know how steel pipe is measured, did you want me to saw the line in half to make sure,
mowpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 03:17 PM   #12
Plumber
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas enough to go around


Quote:
Originally Posted by mowpar View Post
Pipe service to house is 1 inch, and you suggest to run this same size to a 30 inch range????
I have seen a lot of things in construction but never a one inch gas pipe for a range, how old did you say you were?
Brother, after reading all your post, it is clear you have NO idea what your doing.
Gas is nothing to play with, you might want to think about hiring a pro for this job.
If you do it yourself as a minimum pull the REQUIRED permits and have a city inspector check your work.
DidIDoThat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 03:17 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas enough to go around


I know how steel pipe is measured, did you want me to saw the line in half to make sure,
mowpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 03:18 PM   #14
Plumber
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas enough to go around


Quote:
Originally Posted by mowpar View Post
I know how steel pipe is measured, did you want me to saw the line in half to make sure,
If you do get the wife and kids out of the house , and PLEASE take pictures.
DidIDoThat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 03:19 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,109
Rewards Points: 118
Default

gas enough to go around


Quote:
Originally Posted by mowpar View Post
I know how steel pipe is measured, did you want me to saw the line in half to make sure,

You posted the outside diameter in post number 4.

I would run a 1-1/4" line from the meter to the split for the first appliance, and then decrease size or the remaining load, and run that size until the second appliance, and then decrease size to what the final appliance needs.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.