Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2010, 11:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Share |
Question

frost hydrant installation


i just hooked my shed's frost hydrant into water supply 3 ft under and have not backfilled yet. when testing, i noticed that it has a small release vent in the bottom to release residue water after it is shut off. so, before i backfill, my question is should the area around the bottom of the hydrant where it connects to the pipe be GRAVEL instead of DIRT so that the water has more empty spaces around gravel pieces to drain through ? seems like the perfect choice, just wanted to confirm.

thanks

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 12:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 601
Default

frost hydrant installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
i just hooked my shed's frost hydrant into water supply 3 ft under and have not backfilled yet. when testing, i noticed that it has a small release vent in the bottom to release residue water after it is shut off. so, before i backfill, my question is should the area around the bottom of the hydrant where it connects to the pipe be GRAVEL instead of DIRT so that the water has more empty spaces around gravel pieces to drain through ? seems like the perfect choice, just wanted to confirm.

thanks
I usually use river rock, and I wrap it in plastic so that dirt can't work its way in over time

the_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 12:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Question

frost hydrant installation


but gravel should be fine, no ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 12:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 601
Default

frost hydrant installation


yea i think it would, just make sure there isn't a lot of dirt or fine material in it, and wrap plastic around it all to keep dirt and roots out
the_man is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to the_man For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (08-22-2010)
Old 08-22-2010, 01:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 96
Default

frost hydrant installation


gravel is the best, i use it all the way to the surface. make sure that there is nothing close to that vent hole to plug it. i usually fachion some bricks or rocks around the hole to keep anything from getting close, then backfill.
TimPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 601
Default

frost hydrant installation


I don't use gravel, I've always worried about it compacting too much and not working after a few years. I would imagine if you use it all the way to the surface you might not have that problem, but thats a bit overkill for me.

the_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help My Admiral Refrigerator is leaking water Cuwillis Appliances 10 03-25-2014 08:21 AM
casement windows installation versus double hung installation user82106 Building & Construction 2 06-16-2010 05:56 PM
galvanized steel frost hydrant amakarevic Plumbing 4 07-26-2009 08:51 AM
Konecto Installation Tidbit jennydavis Flooring 9 01-06-2009 12:19 AM
Aluminum Soffit and Fascia Installation... MoparAutoworks Building & Construction 1 12-17-2006 07:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.