DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Fluidmaster - Slow filling toilet

56K views 12 replies 11 participants last post by  Ghostmaker 
#1 ·
I have a fluidmaster device in my toilet. It takes 5 or more minutes to fill after a flush. I have removed the top of the fluidmaster and turned the water on with a cup covering where the water comes out. It has plenty of pressure. I have taken a wire and run it down through the fill valve and am convince there is no blockage there. I have replaced the rubber gasket inside the top. It improved for a short period, but eventually starting taking longer and longer to fill. Sometimes it won't even fill at all. I am out of ideas. Please give me some suggestions how to resolve this. Thanks for any help!

Ronnie
:(

#5 ·
If the water supply line to the toilet comes out of the wall, the valve that controls the water, is called an angle stop. If it comes out of the floor, it is just a supply valve. Shut off the water valve, disconnect the supply tube, hold a rag over the valve and turn it on and off a couple times. This should clear any debris in the valve. Reconnect the line and see if this helps. If not, as Ron says, replace the fill valve in the toilet. Fluidmasters are usually less than $10 and take only about 15 minutes to install. Good luck.

#6 ·
This may have been answered already but here is my 2 cents, yes you can replace it or the stop maybe plugged up which i doubt unless the main to the houst has been shut off and you have trash in the line , but the only thing that goes wrong on a fluid Master is the diaphram disc under tthe cap and that only cost about $1.00 .

#7 ·
In case someone is still reading this thread - I have the exact same situation as the first user mentioned. I removed the top and turned on the supply valve with a cup on top. The pressure it just fine! But after a flush, the tank takes close to 5 mins to fill up. Is it time to change the whole thing, or is there something I haven't tried?

#8 · (Edited)