Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2012, 03:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Fix or replace copper main stack?


I am purchasing a house, and the main stack is copper. The inspector nored that the seal to the Cast at the floor needed to be redone, and there were a couple joints that showed signs of having leaked previously near the top. The like is 4" cast, to a 3" copper up to the various joints. The rest of it looks good. The bathrooms (1.5ba) both are re-done, so they won't be worked on for a while, so getting all the way to the second floor would be a pain right now if I were to replace all of it.
We do have future plans of adding a second master bath, and maybe re-doing the main bath, but not for 5-10 years at this point.

Should I either:

1) fix the issues and let it be for now.

2) replace from the cast to the ceiling in the basement with 4" PVC and connect original copper back

3) replace everything

Obviously, I don't want to, nor plan to do option 3 at this time, but figured it should be included. I am not well versed in connecting different type of pipe together and what is allowed or not. I've only used PVC in the past.

Here is a picture of the stack. To the upper left is the 1/2 bath, to the upper right is the 2nd floor bath, and the kitchen. Bottom right is laundry/utility sink. The area of the previous leaks are to the left of where the sink connection enters the 3"


jimmyfloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:59 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,236
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Fix or replace copper main stack?


I would fix the issues for now, I would never get rid of that copper, that is a rare find and it looks good. If you know how to solder and have a large torch you should keep the copper. Man were talking big bucks for that stuff.

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace Main Beam in different location? jrdamien Carpentry 5 01-10-2009 01:13 PM
electrical main panel and copper pipe amakarevic Plumbing 13 01-02-2009 09:09 PM
add subpanel or replace main panel... red86yota Electrical 3 12-04-2008 09:43 AM
150amp main - Replace or Sub?? steve f Electrical 15 05-19-2008 07:26 PM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 12:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.