Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2010, 08:54 AM   #1
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Share |
Default

Fanornot?


If I have a window in my bathroom, is it required to still have a fan?

Thanks!

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:08 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Fanornot?


Not according to everything I have read
I still install one in every bathroom

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:12 AM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Fanornot?


I HAD to put one in the old bathroom to pass elec. inspection years ago, but it had no window.....
I'm at that stage so I need to know if I have to plan on it or not. Personally, I don't like them, they're always too noisy and fail too often.
Of course, this has NOTHING to do with the fact they're all made in "you know where" now.......

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:20 AM   #4
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Default

Fanornot?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Personally, I don't like them, they're always too noisy and fail too often.
Have you ever considered a remote fan?

http://residential.fantech.net/resid...single-grille/

I've used Fantech products before and I believe they are made in North America for the most part. The last one I used was mfg. in Canada.

Broan/Nutone carries a line of remote fans also.
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:22 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Fanornot?


We use the fans during the Spring-Fall
Not in the winter
For most of the summer I use a double fan in the bathroom window
Mostly at nite to exhaust hot air out, and pull cooler air in other windows
But I also use the window fan as thebathroom fan most of the summer
I installed a new fan/light last year
Its fairly quiet & has 2 bulbs for lights
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:57 AM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Fanornot?


My main problem is putting another hole in my gable, roof, etc. and having to run exhaust tubes.
I really don't have the time for the extra project right now, so I need to know if the inspector will insist on one being installed as code or not?

Thanks!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 10:06 AM   #7
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Fanornot?


As far as the inspection, It all depends on what's required in your area. Here, if you have a window. you don't have to install a fart fan
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 10:41 AM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Fanornot?


I just got the call back from the electric inspector, (nice guy!) He says no fan needed if windowed! Yay!
And he says I can run both bathrooms on one 20a circuit! Yay! (just the outlets, but that's fine since all my overhead lights are on their own circuit)

Po)

Color me happy today!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:27 PM   #9
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Fanornot?


I would say that those outlets will have to be GFCI
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:54 PM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Fanornot?


Yup, the first one at least.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 04:12 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Fanornot?


I would wire the 2nd bathroom from the LINE side of the power feed
Then install another GFCI in the 2nd bathroom
If one bathroom GFCI trips both will not be out
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 04:27 PM   #12
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Fanornot?


Good idea, thanks!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 02:14 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 400
Default

Fanornot?


In MI the last bath window I installed had to be safety glass
plumberinlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 03:19 PM   #14
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Fanornot?


Hmmm, was it IN the shower/bathtub? I could understand that, but this one is in a wall far from the tub. I don't think he'll say anything, but if he does, I'll do whatever I have to...... *sigh*

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 06:14 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 400
Default

Fanornot?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Hmmm, was it IN the shower/bathtub? I could understand that, but this one is in a wall far from the tub. I don't think he'll say anything, but if he does, I'll do whatever I have to...... *sigh*

DM
yes it was in the shower/tub

plumberinlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.