DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Plumbing (http://www.diychatroom.com/f7/)
-   -   Failed inspection (http://www.diychatroom.com/f7/failed-inspection-20702/)

pjm 05-06-2008 05:42 PM

Failed inspection
 
Well I had some plumbing work done in my kitchen and had the inspector come out and check it for me today. He failed me for the vent pipe from the sink being to close to an upstairs window (apparently it needs to be 10 feet away and it's only about 8 feet away. My question is this: This isn't a new install I just had a plumber change the angle of the pipe so I wouldn't need a sofet in my kitchen. The inspector told my wife to have it moved where the bathroom vent is (about 5 feet away in the roof). I have the plumber coming out tomorrow to see what he can do, but I don't see anyway around this. Do you think I can question about a grandfather clause or something like that due to the fact that the pipe had already been there since I bought the house? I don't want to question the inspector and tick him off, but if I can get around this without moving the pipe I would love to. If I have to move it that means patching the hole in the roof along with the cost of the plumber moving the pipe.

Any ideas what I can do to possibly get around this?

Thanks.

DUDE! 05-06-2008 06:51 PM

easy for me to say, its not my inspection, but truth be told, the inspector is only looking out for your safety, and anyone whom may own your house in the future, good luck.

Ron The Plumber 05-06-2008 06:52 PM

You can't dispute the code, fix it and be done with it.

pjm 05-06-2008 08:42 PM

That's what I thought. I just didn't know if anyone knew of any grandfather clause it might fall under, but I guess the inspector would know about that. Looks like I need a roofer now too. :(

Termite 05-06-2008 09:12 PM

As an inspector, my opinion of that call is that it is...Shall we say chicken poop. There's no life safety hazard about it. Odor is the big issue.
But, it is code.

If your plumber did not just install the vent, I would contact the inspector and try to discuss it with him. You're not necessarily grandfathered, but they should be willing to make an exception over two feet on an existing pipe. It seems unreasonable to make you change an existing condition unless there is an identifiable life safety hazard.

sevver 05-06-2008 10:10 PM

The thing is, what you are dealing with is potentially methane gas. So it could be life or death, odorless, colorless, tasteless, that is what it is, and I am not really sure if it is the fact that it is too close to the window in the wall, as it is within ten feet of a window where it leaves the roof. Is that what it is? Could you just toss a 45 on it outside the roof and stick a piece of pipe in there? It would look sort of funny, but it would solve a problem. Or, what if you extended it further in the air?

pjm 05-07-2008 06:06 AM

I'm having the plumber come over this morning and take a look. I think I have to call the inspector and see just what the problem is and how I can go about fixing it. I've seen other vent pipes extend much higher than mine they look kind of wierd, but if it saves me a roofing bill I could live with it.

I'll let you know what develops.

pjm 05-07-2008 08:54 AM

Well the plumber came by this morning and said we need to move the pipe. He said that once you work on existing plumbing it needs to meet the new codes so I have no recourse. He will move it for me later today or sometime this week. Now I just need to patch the hole in my roof. guess i'm off to the roofing forum now :yes:!

Lansing 05-09-2008 02:30 AM

My uncle was a master plumber and I worked as his helper on jobs he did for my father , a general contractor...It's right to move the vent pipe...

I have seen it taken up to the attic and a line run to where it was safe to go through the roof so you did not see a odd pipe set outside...My question is why did your plumber not to it right the first time...He should have known the code and that it was going to be inspected ???:huh:

Lansing

jogr 05-09-2008 04:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sevver (Post 121427)
The thing is, what you are dealing with is potentially methane gas. So it could be life or death,

:laughing: Yep, countless people have died because their sink vent pipe was only 8 feet from their window instead of 10.:no:

It's just a smell thing but you gotta do what you gotta do to pass the inspection.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.