Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2010, 06:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Share |
Default

expansion tank missing


my gas water heater has no expansion tank tho my furnace does. Is this a needed component and why? thanks Timothy

tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 10:58 PM   #2
Do something
 
D'Brie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 91
Default

expansion tank missing


An expansion tank takes the excess pressure made by your water heater as it heats the water to your selected temperature. By having an expansion tank, your plumbing fixtures (especially toilets) will not have the effects of expasion pushing on their seals. It's a good idea to have one on your incoming cold line.

D'Brie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 03:08 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 163
Blog Entries: 1
Default

expansion tank missing


you need an exp.tank if there is a back flow preventer,pressure reducing valve,check valve or dual check valve at your meter on the main water to your house.
rudolph58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 07:46 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Default

expansion tank missing


thanks, have well
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 10:59 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 163
Blog Entries: 1
Default

expansion tank missing


about 1 extra gal. of water is produced in a 40 gal.water heater when the water is heated I believe 30 deg.above the in coming water temp.
rudolph58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 09:53 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 144
Default

expansion tank missing


If you have a well then you already have an expansion tank. Its the tank connected to the well.
paul100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 10:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 163
Blog Entries: 1
Default

expansion tank missing


just thought i would quote him something i heard at my continuing ed.class.

rudolph58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a new boiler expansion tank CoachDad HVAC 0 01-06-2010 01:12 PM
Pressure relief leaking and expansion tank full themow HVAC 1 11-25-2009 04:49 PM
Expansion tank location?? rcassidy HVAC 4 10-06-2009 09:01 AM
Installing new expansion tank ted schumm HVAC 2 07-19-2009 09:49 PM
No Expansion Tank for Water Heater vasanvasan Plumbing 4 12-13-2007 11:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.