Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2010, 02:20 PM   #1
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Share |
Default

Dual Pressure tanks.


Hello. I have about 30" height clearance in my crawlspace. My 1/2 HP pump is rated at about 14gpm. The biggest tank i can fit standing up is a 26gallon with a 8gallon drawdown.. Pump theory says pump should run for aruond a minute so can i add a second pressure tank? How would you hookup 2 pressure tanks in one setup?

ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 02:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

Dual Pressure tanks.


You can install another pressure tank anywhere it will fit but preferably before any branches to different parts of the house.

Don't forget, after the tank pressure is calibrated and the system turned on and the pump has stopped, some of the space in the (each) tank will still be full of (compressed) air.

After the pump has stopped and when no one is using water, the pressure (in psi) is the same everywhere in the system from the faucets to the tanks to the pump output.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-07-2010 at 02:41 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 03:22 PM   #3
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Default

Dual Pressure tanks.


I have room for an extra tank right beside the first tank. I'm just wondering how you would hook them up. Would they be hooked up in a series. tank 1 > tank 2 > discharge. or would i have to put a T or something after my pressure switch to both tanks, and then put a T to make it back into 1 line??
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 04:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

Dual Pressure tanks.


Doesn't matter whether in series or parallel. You only need one air pocket to operate the pressure switch.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

Dual Pressure tanks.


Suggest arranging the tanks so water cannot become trapped in either one.

It is okay if the tanks have separate tee connections to the main pipe.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 09:48 PM   #6
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Default

Dual Pressure tanks.


Alright . Thanks dudes!

ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent Low Water Pressure Fox Plumbing 4 03-02-2010 06:04 AM
Older air compressor wiring help lash-1295 Electrical 91 12-23-2009 12:46 PM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 06:14 PM
New Pressure Switch -- low water pressure chach Plumbing 4 01-18-2009 09:50 PM
water pressure tanks metal vs fiberglass elementx440 Plumbing 2 04-11-2007 09:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.