Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-11-2010, 11:31 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Drilled well / undeveloped land.

Hi, I know there has been some discussion to this but can someone point out the basics to me of what needs to be done to connect a drilled well to a home. I have the drilled well - 6" diameter and capped - that's it. What all needs to be done in order to make this well operational and attached to a house. I am completely new to this.

Thanks
Owen

Owen B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 12:50 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer

Rewards Points: 2,000

Ayuh,.... Basically,... Dig the trench for the line, below frostline,...
Punch a hole in the well casing, below frostline,+ install a pithles adapter,...
Drop a pump down the well,+ attach it to the pithles,...
Lay the piping to the house,+ add the controls, wiring,+ pressue tank...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 01:38 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 150

make sure that the pump you pick is adequate for the depth of your well.the deeper the well,the more impeller stages.make sure the pump electrical wires are large enough.the farther apart the well is from the pressure switch,the larger the wire.the more water demand you need,the larger the pressure tank.
rudolph58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:19 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 516

if the well driller sells pumps ask him. IF he suggests 1/3 or 1/2 hp pump,,,do yourself a favor and upgrade to a 3/4. they are sorta like pickups and heavier is better, less problems. But like said, depth and volumes needed, dictate size and type.
4just1don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:39 PM   #5

Rewards Points: 500

See if this helps http://www.barottdrilling.com/watersystem.html The drawing shows the basic components.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:45 PM   #6
Licensed P.E./Home Insp