Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-13-2010, 01:44 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Draining a sink into the vent pipe?

I have been working on my basement for 8+ months and I'm getting ready to start plumbing. Basically the building owner roughed in a bathroom in the basement and put in a toilet during construction (assuming to save on a Porto potty). There are two "drains" in the floor on the right, the one "closest" when you look at it is actually a clean out (I opened it up and verified water from upstairs flows across the bottom of it). The back right drain (corner) is assuming for a shower (but almost unusable because of how close to the toilet it is which is why I'm not bothering). The stack on the back left appears to be the vent for this clean out and I can see it on the roof almost directly above where it is in the basement.

So I've attached my plans for the room. Can I use the vent pipe as my drain? There is no real other option in this room and I'm assuming that's why they stubbed it out. I figured I'd run a 90* through the wall from the pipe right to my sinks drain. Do I need to add a separate "vent" above where the stub is also or will this short run be ok?

-Allan
Attached Thumbnails
Draining a sink into the vent pipe?-bathroomphoto2.jpg   Draining a sink into the vent pipe?-bathroomlayout3.jpg  

Last edited by vseven; 08-13-2010 at 01:50 PM.
vseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 10:11 PM   #2
Doing it myself

Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan

Since I don't see any other pipes coming out of the concrete, i'm going to guess that it was just roughed in as a half bath, otherwise you'd have a square box somewhere in the concrete close to another pipe coming up maybe 6-8" away from the box. That would be for a shower or a tub/shower.