Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2010, 08:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drain for Water Softener...


My Water Softener drains out side of the house into the ground. The installer ran the water through the system and it's drain line and punched it into the ground. I was watching but not paying attention. There is a piece of 3/4 PVC punched in the ground with a 1/2 poly pipe (the Drain) running through it, They pushed it into the ground until it took the water. It has been there for 5+ years. I have tried to do it with my neighbors system with no luck. Is there anyone that can give me any pointers and tricks of the trade? I for got to mention, we live in Florida. Thanks, Ron

Mr Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:08 PM   #2
Member
 
lloydb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Drain for Water Softener...


I installed over 1000 systems for rainsoft and culligan and I can't imagine what they did with that pvc pipe that would allow it to take the water from repeated softener regenerations. It's hard to believe they just kept pushing it in till they hit a cavity but I'm in Oklahoma, I'm sure the soil is way different.

If your neighbor has a cleanout somewhere around the house, you could drill and tap the side of it a few inches underground and run the drain to it and attach it via barbed fitting.

__________________
Broken Arrow hvac Broken Arrow Air Conditioning
lloydb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 05:01 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drain for Water Softener...


Lloydb, It is funny you mention Rain Soft because that is the kind of softener that I have. Living in Florida the soil is sand and soft. It took them just a couple of minutes to push it down. No hassle and no fuss and bingo, it has been working for over 5 years. Thank You for your time and suggestions... Ron
Mr Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 06:26 AM   #4
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Drain for Water Softener...


They di it by adapting a garden hose to a length of silid pipe and then pushing the thing into the ground as the hose runs. However, directly draing salt brine water into the ground is not a good thing and in Florida several coutnies already prohibit things irrigation wells because they can have a tendency to pull salt water to the surface.
__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 05:45 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rosedale,Md
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Drain for Water Softener...


lloydb said >>>If your neighbor has a cleanout somewhere around the house, you could drill and tap the side of it a few inches underground and run the drain to it and attach it via barbed fitting.<<<

Don't even think of doing that, that would tie a potable water system into the sewer system, a good way to get someone killed, plus it's 100% against code!!
braindead is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to braindead For This Useful Post:
TheEplumber (09-10-2010)
Old 09-11-2010, 10:34 PM   #6
Member
 
lloydb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Drain for Water Softener...


Quote:
Don't even think of doing that, that would tie a potable water system into the sewer system, a good way to get someone killed, plus it's 100% against code!!

Ok, so use a stand pipe and a softener air gap. If it was a good way to "Get someone killed" I should be dead since that's how my am32 rainsoft has been draining for the last 12 years. Seems a better way to get someone killed would be to give them keys to a car.

I know code. Bureaucrats lay awake at night dreaming up new codes. It has it's place, but I'm not clinging to it like an inspector.

If you want to believe that ecoli is going to climb through a 5/8" tube, 40 feet around a house against the salt water flush every 48 hours, climb four feet and pass through the softener drain tab that's rated to 150psi, into the softener, survive a chlorine bath and ultimately kill somebody... go ahead....I'll stick with reality.
Seems it would be just as easy for germs to climb your toilet into the tank and rub elbows with your potable water supplied fill valve, particularly if you have the old fluidmaster 200a.

Every time someone takes a drink from a rural well that hasn't been chemical injected before a retention tank, they are drinking water that is potentially contaminated with animal waste.

Companies have sold hundreds of thousands of reverse osmosis systems to consumers without air gap faucets and some still do. The monstrous wave of dead and dying people should have made it to the hospitals and morgue by now.



__________________
Broken Arrow hvac Broken Arrow Air Conditioning

Last edited by lloydb; 09-11-2010 at 11:03 PM.
lloydb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 10:24 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drain for Water Softener...


HELP! The power in our house went out last night and I think it has messed up our water softener to our well. I walked outside to find water all over the ground outside of the pump house. I looked inside to see what was going on and the ground inside the pump house was dry. There is a pipe that is connected to the softener that runs to outside of the pump house. I discovered that is where all the water is coming from. Water was pouring out of this pipe. Meanwhile the softener is continuing to make noise like it is constantly running. I unplugged the softener. It eventually stopped making noise and the water stopped pouring out of the pipe. So I then plugged it back in. Within minutes water started dripping out of the pipe again then started gushing out like before. I unplugged the softener. The bypass is now on. I don't know what to do. My husband works out of town. My dad happens to be out of town as well. It's just me and my two year old son here. I could really use some help.
SaraS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 10:45 AM   #8
Member
 
lloydb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Drain for Water Softener...


The softener is just in the middle of a regeneration, but it's just happening at an unusual time probably due to your power outage.

I would plug it back in, take it off bypass and let it do it's thing. It will finish on it's own. The water flooding the ground is coming out of the drain that is connected to the softener. It's normal and has to happen.
__________________
Broken Arrow hvac Broken Arrow Air Conditioning
lloydb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 12:32 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drain for Water Softener...


Quote:
Originally Posted by lloydb View Post
The softener is just in the middle of a regeneration, but it's just happening at an unusual time probably due to your power outage.

I would plug it back in, take it off bypass and let it do it's thing. It will finish on it's own. The water flooding the ground is coming out of the drain that is connected to the softener. It's normal and has to happen.
Yes, but I've never seen the ground completely saturated like that and my water smells rusty in the house.
SaraS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 01:44 PM   #10
Member
 
lloydb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Drain for Water Softener...


If the softener won't finish regeneration on it's own, the timer motor may have been zapped. Can't really say why the water smells rusty. It seems even if the softener malfuntioned over night due to the power outage that it would still take a day or two to lose total capacity of the softener.

Sometimes if you run water in the house while the softener is in the middle of a regeneration, you can get a mega load of salt water in your pipes.

__________________
Broken Arrow hvac Broken Arrow Air Conditioning
lloydb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water softener drain gccrafty Plumbing 3 08-04-2010 06:20 PM
water softener drain line moreira85 Plumbing 6 10-31-2009 01:14 PM
Furnace leak while running AC unit lbartowski HVAC 3 09-18-2009 02:46 PM
Water softener & Iron filter drain DSKUP Plumbing 3 02-17-2009 11:14 AM
The Bioswale, french drain, deck, drainage dilemma (long) seabright_sc Building & Construction 2 01-05-2008 04:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.