Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 11:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Does 10 GPG hardness require softening?


I just bought a new house (with new appliances). The water in the city I live in has a water hardness of 10 gpg. Should I be concerned about this hardness? I drink purified water, so I am mostly concerned about damage to the plumbing/appliances. Is a water softener necessary?

Any advice is appreciated

mdlucero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:49 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,389
Rewards Points: 108
Default

Does 10 GPG hardness require softening?


http://www.budgetwater.com/article_hardness_chart.htm

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 05:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,907
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Does 10 GPG hardness require softening?


Before we got a softener, our water was about the same level of hardness as yours. Same scenario, new home and all new appliances. Within a couple of months, there was noticeable white film around faucets and inside the dishwasher. Laundry did not come out clean. Glasses were spotted. Had to clean my drip coffee maker weekly or it stopped working. Draw your own conclusion. If you've just moved in, now's the time.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gallon Per Grain (hardness)?? Mark76 Plumbing 3 12-24-2012 09:37 AM
Final hardness and salt dosage cgarai Plumbing 6 05-15-2012 04:10 PM
does my furnace require 240 volts to start/run? MLMIB HVAC 1 02-05-2011 07:34 AM
Does your job require a permit? housedocs General DIY Discussions 203 12-01-2010 07:28 AM
Exterior Wall Insulation require plastic barrier? BillyDIY Building & Construction 14 03-05-2009 10:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.