Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2011, 07:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: near LA, Calif
Posts: 52
Share |
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


I'm about to put in a new standard size bathtub. I was at home depot today to pick up some drain kit. I was told that I don't need a p trap when I questioned why the kit didn't come with one. Is this true ? thx

oldhouse49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:58 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


I'm PRETTY sure the apron store employee is wrong.....

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
VIPlumber (10-01-2011)
Old 10-01-2011, 08:15 PM   #3
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,858
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


Every fixture needs a trap. Never trust a box store
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TheEplumber For This Useful Post:
DangerMouse (10-01-2011)
Old 10-01-2011, 08:43 PM   #4
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,750
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


You have got to be foxing kidding me.

I'd call the store and talk to the manager about that. That's just plain ridiculous, uncalled for, blatantly stupid, against every plumbing code on the planet yet alone the entire universe, I could go on for days idiotic.

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Alan For This Useful Post:
VIPlumber (10-01-2011)
Old 10-01-2011, 09:55 PM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,609
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
You have got to be foxing kidding me.

I'd call the store and talk to the manager about that. That's just plain ridiculous, uncalled for, blatantly stupid, against every plumbing code on the planet yet alone the entire universe, I could go on for days idiotic.

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 11:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,526
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


How else are sewer gases going to be kept out of your house?
VIPlumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 11:35 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


that is why you dont ask for advice in an apron store. now maybe they said that because you should already have a p-trap under the tub and wouldnt need another one?
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:23 AM   #8
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,750
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyT View Post
that is why you dont ask for advice in an apron store. now maybe they said that because you should already have a p-trap under the tub and wouldnt need another one?
That's possible, but a longshot. However, if anything, in a box store, i'd expect them to try and sell you something you don't need, not the opposite.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 04:25 AM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,223
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


Now wait a min.....I think we are beating up on a kid for the wrong reason....

I would be willing to bet that in a majority of cases, you could replace the bath tub...or drain and never have to deal with the p-trap.

Hence, if you replace the bathtub...as long as the drain is in the same place....the p-trap is below it...and unless you know what to look for, most people won't see it.

A good analogy......door bells.....how many people replace their door bell and never realize they have a 24Vac transformer somewhere? The way you guys are talking, if someone replaces their door bell, they have to replace the transformer too.....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 09:07 AM   #10
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,858
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Now wait a min.....I think we are beating up on a kid for the wrong reason....

I would be willing to bet that in a majority of cases, you could replace the bath tub...or drain and never have to deal with the p-trap.

Hence, if you replace the bathtub...as long as the drain is in the same place....the p-trap is below it...and unless you know what to look for, most people won't see it.

A good analogy......door bells.....how many people replace their door bell and never realize they have a 24Vac transformer somewhere? The way you guys are talking, if someone replaces their door bell, they have to replace the transformer too.....
All I said was "never trust a box store" That goes for their employees and products too.
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 10:11 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: near LA, Calif
Posts: 52
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


thanks for the info guys.

another question. after I install the sewer lines(ABS) for the tub and toilet, someone will pour concrete on top, what can I use to sleeve/wrap the pipe for protection? thx
oldhouse49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 10:38 AM   #12
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,858
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oldhouse49 View Post
thanks for the info guys.

another question. after I install the sewer lines(ABS) for the tub and toilet, someone will pour concrete on top, what can I use to sleeve/wrap the pipe for protection? thx
I use a couple wraps of "sill seal". Its the foam material that framers use between the concrete and bottom plate.
Put 1 or wraps around the pipes at the concrete level. Fasten with duct tape. On the toilet stub, use enough wraps so its about a 1/2" thick. This will allow room for the flange.
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 10:39 AM   #13
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,750
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oldhouse49 View Post
thanks for the info guys.

another question. after I install the sewer lines(ABS) for the tub and toilet, someone will pour concrete on top, what can I use to sleeve/wrap the pipe for protection? thx
Around here, they don't like the pipe travelling horizontally embedded in concrete. When we do travel through it (vertically) we use regular sill foam and duct tape.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:11 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: near LA, Calif
Posts: 52
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


well, the abs pipe will be underneath a new slab in the bathroom. what would you recommend doing? skip the cement where the pipe runs and put plywood on top instead?
oldhouse49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:32 PM   #15
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,025
Default

do u need p trap for bathtub?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oldhouse49 View Post
well, the abs pipe will be underneath a new slab in the bathroom. what would you recommend doing? skip the cement where the pipe runs and put plywood on top instead?
The pipe is supposed to be in the fill under the slab not in the slab. Usually the area where the trap and the vertical riser are located is boxed out and left free of concrete.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
VIPlumber (10-02-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace condensate drain/trap issue SteveC HVAC 33 12-27-2012 11:46 AM
Keep cast iron trap or new ABS trap? thebigsee Plumbing 1 01-26-2010 03:18 AM
No drain trap in a 7-year old home - is this normal? curls00 Plumbing 2 12-05-2009 12:40 PM
Cat trap fever radtek General DIY Discussions 13 05-31-2009 06:18 PM
clogged pipe or trap issue? windowguy Plumbing 3 05-10-2009 10:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.