Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-21-2011, 12:12 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Do I keep tightening toilet tank to compress gasket? Tank is not touching bowl

The task: I'm installing a new American Standard Champion toilet, and I'm now trying to attach the tank to the bowl properly.

The problem: the rubber gasket underneath the tank seems quite thick. I've pushed down on the tank and hand-tightened the bolts, but I seem to have compressed the gasket as far as it wants to go without more serious weight or pressure.

My question: Do I keep tightening and compressing the tank until it touches the bowl? The tanks is sitting about 1/4" to 1/2" above the bowl still. It doesn't look quite right just hovering there and I believe it would rock and eventually leak, based on what I've read. If yes, how best to do this safely?

I appreciate any advice as I'm new to this. I've already broken a tank this week and gone through four wax rings (with and without rubber gaskets before learning I definitely have no space for the wax ring w/gasket), so I'm really afraid to break another toilet when I probably should have called plumber in first place :-) My wife and five sons would like their toilet back.

Thanks,
Seth in NC

sethpnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:55 AM   #2
Remodeler

Rewards Points: 156

Just installed 4 champions in a friends new house and shop. By tightening evenly a little on each side I was able to get the raised portion to touch at the front of the tank but seemed to tight to go much further. Once you get the front to touch the tank is pretty secure. I installed one in my house too and it was the same way. Not sure you can pull it down completely, there is quite a bit of space left at the rear. I have heard other complaints about this too, mine has been installed for 6 years and I have had no problems with the tank leaking.