Dishwasher Install - Replacing Copper - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-05-2010, 06:16 PM   #1
feh

Rewards Points: 10
Question

dishwasher install - replacing copper

Hi folks!

I'm replacing a dishwasher. I've got the old one out, and I'm ready to install the new one. My problem is that the old dishwasher had copper run all the way to the inlet of the dishwasher. The new dishwasher will require something flexible, as the water supply needs to be run through a channel on the bottom of the washer.

So, I need to remove most of the existing copper and make a junction for some flexible braided hose, which I'll then run to the inlet.

I've never done this before. First of all, does this sound like a sensible approach? If so, how do I do it?

Thanks!

Advertisement

feh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 07:37 PM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 3,236

Where does the old copper line start? If it runs to a shutoff--disconnect it there and use the existing shut off--You may need to get an adapter if the old line was 1/2 inch..(your new line will be 3/8)

Advertisement

oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 09:13 PM   #3
feh

Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
Where does the old copper line start? If it runs to a shutoff--disconnect it there and use the existing shut off--You may need to get an adapter if the old line was 1/2 inch..(your new line will be 3/8)
Yes, it runs to a shut off. I can take pix if that would help.

The existing junction at the shutoff is soldered. Does that make disconnection impossible?
Old 02-05-2010, 09:16 PM   #4
feh