Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-18-2013, 04:34 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Difference in fixtures?

Is there any difference in delta and mown faucets bought from HD and Lowes and ones from plumbing supply houses? I'm a HVAC tech and some things like thermostats are different and since I am remodeling the kitchen I was wondering if the same was true with faucets.

Ebierley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:21 PM   #2
Retired Army Veteran

Rewards Points: 1,090

Difference in fixtures?

IMO, yes. Local plumbing supply stores products seem to be better to me. Stay tuned, see what other plumbers are saying.

jmon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:35 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 75

Difference in fixtures?

From my experiences.....sometimes.Ive repaired moen tub and shower faucets from Home Depot and they are identical to ones bought in supply houses.Kitchen and lav faucets usually have a different style and manufactured cartariages.The body of the faucet seems the same though,just cheaper guts
plumberman134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:58 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 2,218

Difference in fixtures?

I'll just say that some of the box store brands will not be found in a plumbing supply house--ever!
Moen does make models specific to box stores, I would imagine other brands do too
Old 03-18-2013, 06:38 PM   #5

Rewards Points: 508

Difference in fixtures?

most box stores sell cheaper made guts but if you know what to look for they carry a few with better guts. but one thing that is rare to find at box store is a good drain Assembly with them
jaydevries is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 08:51 PM   #6
Doing it myself

Rewards Points: 2,024
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan

Difference in fixtures?

Here's what I know :