DHW Coil Not Producing Enough Hot Water When One Zone Is Running - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2012, 09:16 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 588
Default

DHW coil not producing enough hot water when one zone is running


Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbler View Post
Aside from the DHW coil being physically installed in the boiler, there is absolutely no other connection to the heating system pipes. There are no valves, other other devices. I've taken a pretty hard look a the wiring, etc, and there is nothing that occurs when the zones call for heat that changes on the DHW side.
Your plumbing as shown is typical of a tankless coil. No connection to the zones at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbler View Post
I'm leaning towards this being a scale up of my DHW coil combined with a faster rate of heat transfer from the 2nd floor (vs. the first floor). My suspicion is that because the first floor is made up of mono-flows the temperature of the water going back into the boiler (from the loop) is much higher, due to the mono-flows keeping some fraction of the water bypasing convectors), than the the temperature of the water going back in the second floor where 100% of the flow goes through the hot water baseboards...
I agree. The thing is, what is going on within the boiler. The tankless should be located in the hottest part of the boiler. If the temperature on the gauge isn't varying much, why the change in output from the tankless. It does take a lot of btu's to warm up water fast, maybe the boiler just can't keep up.

Did you check, does the temperature vary as much with just zone 1?

I bet if you can put in an electric you could plumb your own indirect.

Advertisement

AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 09:19 PM   #17
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,801
Rewards Points: 2,276
Default

DHW coil not producing enough hot water when one zone is running


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob999 View Post
Really depends on the water quality.
With soft water (less than 1 grain per gallon hardness) the coil will probably never need cleaning. The more hardness in the water the more frequently it needs to be done.
This was my understanding as well.

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 01-14-2012 at 09:22 PM.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:50 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

DHW coil not producing enough hot water when one zone is running


Here's what I would do, purchase a 40 gallon electric water heater, hook it up, shut off the hot water loop to the heater, reset the aqua stat to disregard the hot water settings and just use the high low temp loops for heating the house. When it's all said and done it can be the best way to go, easy to troubleshoot, shut boiler down so many months(fuel saving), constant hot water temps when needed. Go for it.

Advertisement

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grossly insufficient water supply to toilet wasting water? mysterylectric Plumbing 8 01-17-2012 12:19 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Cold water is warm - hot water leak under slab? Homerepairguy Plumbing 9 10-13-2010 09:17 PM
No water draining into sump pit aci4369 Plumbing 2 08-18-2009 01:17 PM
I still hear water running when I shut off the main water shut off valve jnut Plumbing 6 07-15-2009 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts