CPVC Lines With Brass Fitting - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-16-2011, 10:07 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

CPVC lines with brass fitting

Hey all.....this is my first time I am posting to the website. Just signed up and I hope I can get some tips from someone with the problem I am having right now.

I just ripped out the fiberglass shower in my master bath and I'm going to replace with tile. Upon removal of the fiberglass shower I noticed the water lines were CPVC with brass elbows and T-Fittings and they had a black ring/clamp around the CPVC where it attached the fitting. In talking with a buddy of mine that is a plumber, he said you need a special tool for that. I want to re-route the lines myself through the studs so I don't have to wait on him or pay someone else to do it. The lines free hang on the outside of the stud and I need to re-route them through the studs so I can get the cement board flat against the studs to screw in. My question to anyone that can help is what "special" tool(s) do I need, how easy is this to do, what do I need to look out for, ect...

I am very new at DIY home repair/remodeling. If you could basically dumb it down to almost kindergarten information, I would greatly appreciate it.

Jason

Advertisement

mill1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 11:50 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,232

I don't understand why such fittings were used. They have to be a lot more expensive than CPVC fittings. I would cut them out and replace them with CPVC. It isn't that hard to do. Any basic how-to plumbing book will explain how it's done.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 01:00 PM   #3