Convert Mark 89 From Aquasensor To Timed Regeneration? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2012, 01:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


I have a 21 year old Culligan Mark 89. Have replaced seal packs twice, aqua-sensor once. All regeneration stages, flow rates are normal, however, the Aqua-Sensor feature seems to have failed (no automatic regens- water again soft after manual regen). The unit requires pushing a red button on the timer plate before starting manual regeneration.

I'd like to alter the circuit board, and set up timed regens every 2 or 3 days, using the 6 day wheel on the timer plate. Others have reported Culligan techs doing this in the past. Does anyone know the procedure? I assume it'd be disconnecting the aquasensor, and overriding/bypassing that red button, somehow. Hard to find any circuit info online pre-1994.

Any ideas about an easy/cheap method to determine if the unit ran a regen cycle in the middle of the night or not?

Thanks in advance,
Bo

Advertisement

BoinLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:58 PM   #2
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 760
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


Sounds like the simplest would be to find a timer assembly from either the 89 or 812 that is a 6 day clock and change them out.
I know that in the early 90's Culligan had the resin guard system that I have removed and turned them into a simple softener.
Have not done the removal of the aquasenor , but it can be done.
Having a photo of the valve and the wiring would most likely show me how that can be done.

Advertisement

Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 07:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


Thanks, Akpsdvan - you appear to be the go-to online guru for softeners; you've already helped me in the past!

To clarify, I have the 6 day wheel in place (black asterisk)Name:  timer-resize.jpg
Views: 304
Size:  88.5 KB The red button (white asterisk) must be pressed before a manual recharge can be initiated with AquaSensor in place. Generally, the metal "ears" on the day wheel are pulled out to manually set regeneration frequency, however, with AquaSensor, "all six of these must be pushed in for a recharge to actually occur," per manual. I tried doing 3/6 recharge by pulling every other ear, and no regenerations occurred (no salt use).

Here's a circuit board label: Name:  CB label-resize.jpg
Views: 282
Size:  95.0 KB
Here's the red button: Name:  switch-resize.jpg
Views: 272
Size:  89.1 KB This is a simple momentary continuity switch (usually open).
The circuit board itself: Name:  CB comps-resize.jpg
Views: 265
Size:  96.3 KB
And connector close-up: Name:  connector end-on--resize.jpg
Views: 269
Size:  87.0 KB
Searching the web for the numbers on the board yields nothing. The violet/white leads from the CB connect to a spring switch behind the timer plate, the spring apparently engaging a slot in a plastic cylinder behind (connected to) the salt dial. (?)

I am wondering if I could disconnect the sensor leads (or not) and just jumper across the red button switch, then pull the timer ears, to schedule every 2 or 3 day recharges. But I hate to blindly experiment and fry the CB.

BTW, I "invented" a mickey mouse "monitor" to tell if the unit ran overnight:Name:  monitor-resize.jpg
Views: 274
Size:  92.8 KB - if the nut falls off, it ran!

Appreciate your thoughts/help

Bo
BoinLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 07:47 PM   #4
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 760
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


Looks to be a gutting of the wires to and from the sensor and its board... and turning the timer assembly back into the base form...
I have a timer assembly with a black plug where the red button is at.. but I have removed the wires from it... but I could go and get one out of my pile of valves that still has the wires in place to do a photo of what we should end up with when it is all done.
Check your other post for a pm.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Akpsdvan For This Useful Post:
BoinLV (05-12-2012)
Old 05-13-2012, 02:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


Thanks, again. I located a wiring diagram online: Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?-mark_89_wiring_diagram-75-.jpg

I assume the method may be to disconnect the 120VAC power to the aqua-sensor circuit board, but one concern is the circuit board output to the Timer Program Switch (via the orange to black wires). There are no voltages listed, and I can't find a diagram of the circuit board anywhere. Probably 120V?

Bo
BoinLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:40 PM   #6
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 760
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


I have gone over the wiring and removed the sensor and board and the wires for it, then tied together the black from the timer program switch to the black timer homing switch black.

Unhooking the top micro switch on the timer board.
Attached Thumbnails
Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?-mark_89_wiring_without_sensor.jpg  

Last edited by Akpsdvan; 05-13-2012 at 03:59 PM.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 09:56 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs up

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


Many thanks to you, and Howard!

Blessings,

Bo
BoinLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 09:55 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


I know this post is 2.5 years old but THANK YOU Akpsdvan!!

Got my Mark 89 up and running again after a circuit board melt down. I know new unit are more efficient but I just can't bring myself to spending a ton of money on a new unit. I am going ride this puppy till it's last heart beat...
msjulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 11:47 AM   #9
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 760
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


Glad to be of help.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 12:28 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


I did have a quick question. My total hardness runs right around 250. I have 2-3 people in the house. I have the salt pounds set to 6 and regen 2 times on the dial. After running a regen cycle my hardness drops to about 60 - 80. I am not sure if these numbers jive or not and I have not tested the hardness right before the system regens to see how high the hardness gets before the scheduled regen.

Do these numbers look to be in range??

Last edited by msjulian; 01-09-2015 at 12:33 PM.
msjulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 12:39 PM   #11
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 760
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


250ppm of hardness?
That would be 15grains and after a regen your down to 4grains?
One might try every other day at the 6lbs and see how it plays out.
Could be time to replace the .6 cubic feet of resin on the mark 89.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 12:48 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


Yes 250ppm of hardness.

Just replaced the resin last winter. It has not been cycling for a while since the aqua sensor board burnt up. I removed it and bypassed the circuit as per your post above and did a manual regen this morning. What should it pull the hardness down to?
msjulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 12:53 PM   #13
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 760
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


If your measuring the hardness in ppm then between 0 and 17.1 would be the target range your looking for.
If the system has not be working for awhile then a few extra cleanings with a larger salt dosage should be used to get the resin back in shape.
3lbs of salt to 1 gallon of water.
Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 01:03 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


Thanks for the help. Not sure what the 3lbs to 1 gallon of water equates to on my softener settings.
msjulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 01:15 PM   #15
Water Treatment
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 760
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Convert Mark 89 from Aquasensor to timed regeneration?


If you where to add about 2 gallons of water and let it set for about 2 hours and then send the unit in to a regen it would help with the resin recharging.
Pour the water down the side close to the 3inch tube with the brine float assembly.

Advertisement

Akpsdvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts