DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Contractors license question

3K views 13 replies 4 participants last post by  SUB-ZERO 
#1 ·
Hi, everyone
I have been working with my father in law for 2 years now in the plumbing trade and wanted to know how to get my contractors license. The problem is that my father in lw is not a plumbing contractor and can't sign for application process. Is ther a different way i can get the license. Thanks:)

#2 ·
You work for an unlicensed plumber? And now you want to get experience verified for taking the test? How does your FIL get away with this? You must have a very lax code enforcment in your area. If you were here, that answer would be go to work for a contractor for 2 years and get the journeyman license.

#3 ·
SUB-ZERO said:
Hi, everyone
I have been working with my father in law for 2 years now in the plumbing trade and wanted to know how to get my contractors license. The problem is that my father in lw is not a plumbing contractor and can't sign for application process. Is ther a different way i can get the license. Thanks:)
The only proper answer will be given by your code licensing authorities.

Your state or province may have state issued plumbing licenses, municipal issued plumbing licenses or no licenses required at all.

If you list a state and municipality we might be able to determine just what requirements there are in your jurisidction regarding how to get licensed as a plumber.

Better still is to call your local code enforcement office and have them advise you.

In my state, licensing is done strictly at the municipal level although mandatory statewide building codes are in effect.

#4 ·
manhattan42 said:
The only proper answer will be given by your code licensing authorities.

Your state or province may have state issued plumbing licenses, municipal issued plumbing licenses or no licenses required at all.