Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2008, 10:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ajax, ON
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condensate tube from furnace


Hi,

I'm not sure if I should be posting this in plumbing or construction. I have a high-efficiency furnace in my basement and the condensate tube it just laying on the floor (which is unfinished) beside the drain opening. You can see from the picture that its easy for the tube to be moved around and I often find it draining onto the basement floor.

So anyway, I'm wondering what to do about this when I get around to putting in a subfloor. The drain is right in the middle of the floor so I can't just make it part of the furnace room and leave it unfinished. I was wondering if it's okay to dig into the concrete, attach it somehow to the drain under the floor and then repair the floor above it. Alternatively, there's a rough-in bathroom beside the furnace and suppose I could tap into the sanitary drain. They've left me a T-fitting but it's raised about a foot so to use that I'd probably need to install a pump. And then there's the issue of converting 3/4" flexible hose to what looks like 2" PVC.

So to make a long story short, has anyone figured out what to do with a furnace condensate tube when putting in a basement subfloor?

Thx.
Attached Thumbnails
Condensate tube from furnace-img_0023.jpg  

billthecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 11:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Condensate tube from furnace


Why not just use a condensate pump and pump it out of the house?

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 11:14 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condensate tube from furnace


I would recommend going to your local plumbing supply house and picking up the condensate pump to run this line into you bathroom drain, not only that but I also recommend picking up a neutralizer for this condensate, this too can be received from the plumbing supply house. Due to the fact that the liquid that is going down your drain is actually acidic and over time can and will harm you lines. Again the neutralizer is highly recommended. Good luck.
bryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 11:15 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condensate tube from furnace


Pumping this liquid outside may freeze be very cautious.
bryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 06:42 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ajax, ON
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condensate tube from furnace


Thanks everyone. I'll remember to get the neutralizer.
billthecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 08:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,795
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default

Condensate tube from furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by bryguy View Post
Pumping this liquid outside may freeze be very cautious.
There should only be condensate during the summer, when the AC is running.
handy man88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 09:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Condensate tube from furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by handy man88 View Post
There should only be condensate during the summer, when the AC is running.
This is false. High efficiency furnaces produce condensate.
Reilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 09:24 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ajax, ON
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condensate tube from furnace


That's what I've seen. What bryguy says about the condensate being acidic would also explain why the drain the water presently runs into is corroding. When I re-route the tube I'll be sure to do something abut that.
billthecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 07:38 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condensate tube from furnace


hi everyone...i have a very similar question. I have a condensate drain hose coming from both my furnace and air conditioner, so two hoses. They are both draining into my floor drain in my laundry room. I'm currently in the process of finishing my basement...just at the bathroom plumbing stage, so i'm thinking this would be a good opportunity to move these drains if possible. Can i use one condensate pump and neutralizer for both lines? If not, what would be the best way to relocate these hoses? Thanks for your help!

jparsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
basement, condensate tube, furnace, subfloor


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Carrier Furnace help code 31 fauxjaux HVAC 6 04-22-2010 10:36 PM
First Furnace Install - Need Some Help Getting Started hartkem HVAC 17 10-11-2008 11:55 AM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.