Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2014, 02:35 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 730
Share |
Default

is this to code?


Which post are you referencing? They all look correct as far as I looked.

Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:37 PM   #32
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,593
Default

is this to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
I think the OP wants to use #11. Where are the wet vents there? The lab and tub are separately vented, and the WC is vented where it hits the stack, upstream of the tie-in to the other bath fixtures. Right?
Yes... Thanks AW^^^^^^^^^^^ Exactly what I want to know also.....but my reference is to the original design specifically.

#11(EDIT #17) is a pretty different design trhat confuses me abit.... it sorta looks like a horizontal bath group wet vent but it isn't.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 04-05-2014 at 03:16 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:44 PM   #33
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,618
Default

is this to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut
Which post are you referencing? They all look correct as far as I looked.
if this is directed at my comment, I'm using the phone app and posts are not numbered. But on the vertical stack the wc branch is shown using a 3x2 y as well as the riser to the flange- yet the pipe is labeled correctly.
It might cause some confusion
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions

Please nominate your favorite project!!

TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:51 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 730
Default

is this to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
Yes... Thanks AW^^^^^^^^^^^ Exactly what I want to know also.....but my reference is to the original design specifically.

#11 is a pretty different design trhat confuses me abit.... it sorta looks like a horizontal bath group wet vent but it isn't.
#11 is the original design but showing a bigger isometric than on the OP
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Anti-wingnut For This Useful Post:
dgfit (04-05-2014)
Old 04-05-2014, 02:57 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 284
Default

is this to code?


Here is a pic which I try to answer all previous questions and advice, and I have numbered the fittings (hope I got them all) so we can refer to them by number (such as wye #1, sweep #1, etc.). The sizes of all wyes are barrel inlet, barrel outlet, and branch.

Does this pic meet or exceed code?


Last edited by dgfit; 04-05-2014 at 03:02 PM.
dgfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:58 PM   #36
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,593
Default

is this to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
#11 is the original design but showing a bigger isometric than on the OP
AW.... Thanks.... back with you 100%. (Got 11 mixed up with 17)

(I got mixed up and was thinking you were refering to #17, which is pretty F'd./confusing)

Best

Peter
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:07 PM   #37
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,593
Default

is this to code?


DJ.... In reference to #35..... I like it....

(although I mentioned earlier... assuming pipe/dfu are correct for your code..... seems to me Ghost was saying your tub needed 2"drain... although that was not what he exactly said.....one time he said 1.5 to tub and lav from the 2" branch.... other time he said run 2" all the way to the tub vent????)

Without looking it up, I could swear a tub required 2" drain, at least in Cali, but I would not bet money on my memory)


DJ.... Look again at your wye #3....2 1.5 1.5
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 04-05-2014 at 03:11 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:11 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 730
Default

is this to code?


He'd be legal in King County (WA)
http://www.kingcounty.gov/healthserv...nitvalues.aspx
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:17 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 284
Default

is this to code?


I am reading Ohio code to say that lav is 1 unit with min trap size of 1.25" and tub (with or without shower) is 2 units with min trap size of 1.5" and allows up to 6 units for 2" pipe and 3 units for 1.5" pipe. It also allows for an entire "bathroom group" to be sized at 6 units. So I believe I am good on all the sizes.
dgfit is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dgfit For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (04-05-2014)
Old 04-05-2014, 03:22 PM   #40
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,593
Default

is this to code?


DJ..... Just a question of curiosity.... on your 2" lav/tub branch, why do you show it crossing the stack and reversing direction going into stack....

... it's not a solids carrying waste line, but anytime you reverse direction you loose some drainage flow rate.

Best

Peter

And take a look at wye #3 of post 35.... before Ghost does.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 04-05-2014 at 03:29 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:23 PM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 284
Default

is this to code?


Here are the unit values and trap sizes - http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/st...-P-2011-000004

Here are the pipe sizes based on unit values - http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/st...-P-2011-000004
dgfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:26 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 730
Default

is this to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
DJ..... Just a question of curiosity.... on your 2" lav/tub branch, why do you show it crossing the stack and reversing direction going into stack....

... it's not a solids carrying waste line, but anytime you reverse direction you loose some drainage flow rate.

Best

Peter
It's a isometric view so very likely it's not changing direction except to go from horizontal to vertical.
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:29 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 284
Default

is this to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC
DJ..... Just a question of curiosity.... on your 2" lav/tub branch, why do you show it crossing the stack and reversing direction going into stack.... ... it's not a solids carrying waste line, but anytime you reverse direction you loose some drainage flow rate. Best Peter
It's just the way the software (sketch up from google) renders the perspective for the 3D drawing. The stack, wye #2, sweep #2 and the 45 will all be side by side in the same stud bay.

Btw - you are right about the size on wye #3 - it should be 2x1.5x1.5
dgfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:32 PM   #44
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,593
Default

is this to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
It's a isometric view so very likely it's not changing direction except to go from horizontal to vertical.
AW... Kinda what I thought also.... but why not show it on the other side of the stack....???? just my dumb curiosity.

(I'm not sure what an isometric view is... gonna go look it up)


EDIT: X Post....Thanks for my curiosity

and DG...sorry for callen ya DJ.... getting older sucks
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 04-05-2014 at 03:36 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 03:38 PM   #45
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,618
Default

is this to code?


The 3" wye #1 would fail UPC. It should be a tee since it is venting the wc
Also, check DFU loading on horizontal vs. vertical drainage piping. There might be a different rating

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions

Please nominate your favorite project!!

TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to TheEplumber For This Useful Post:
dgfit (04-05-2014), Javiles (04-06-2014), MTN REMODEL LLC (04-05-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Closet Lights Sav505 Electrical 52 12-28-2012 07:24 AM
Please Help - Error Code's 31, 32 and 42 on Carrier 58MVB 100 kolo HVAC 15 01-28-2012 10:13 PM
Lighting proximity to outdoor hot tub - Code Question jeffinpickering Electrical 0 09-12-2011 01:43 PM
Bryant Plus 90 Code 31 ~kirkland~ HVAC 1 03-08-2011 06:14 PM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.